Fotos, Por Fin!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Arica & Parinacota » Arica
June 21st 2009
Published: June 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, I still haven't taken many photos yet, but the kids at Aldea SOS always steal my camara so thanks to them I have nearly 400 now.

I've kept busy lately; in typical amy-manner..... My official university classes begin Monday this week, but I've been teaching informal workshops/lessons to practice and spread the love of screen printing.

I first made sure to teach Rodrigo and his Mom. They were my inspiration that some of you read about for coming back to teach art here. Rodi is really creative, and always looking for new outlets to express his ideas. His mom is an artist who sells her stuff (jewelry and purses.. if you've seen my stuff from Chile most all of it is hers) in the paseo en el centro.

I visited their apartment (right next to Victor's old apartment...my best friend from last year who I'll be visiting when I go to Buenos Aires in 2 weeks) 3 times since arriving. I taught technique, and they helped me a great deal with vocabulary. We talked quite a bit of art and she loves the idea of having her own stamp on all her purses or some little trademark to call her own. We printed on scraps of material that shes goign to sew as patches onto the purses. She loves this new process and word on the street is you can buy most of the things in Tacna, Peru pretty cheap so we're gonna check it out.

I also taught a workshop in my house yesterday. My host family graciously opened their patio, workspace, and water supply to me and 9 friends. We designed and printed all afternoon 😊 YAY!!!

Last night I went to an asado (BBQ) with a bunch of friends from the UTA (university of tarpaca, arica). They are the most delicious!! Grandpa Martens would love it 😊 I've officially decided I'm filling my suitcase with manjar, pan (bread) and any other non-perishable food items I can fit upon my return to Iowa. The food here is amazing (and healthy!!)

Today I spent the whole day at the orphanage, Aldea SOS in Casa 10 teaching my ninos screen printing. I came to this house ever week last year, and it's such a joy to return this year 😊 Melinka was finally home when I came today; she's an adolescent girl who needs some direction... she's really rebellious and I'm afraid she doesn't have a good group of friends. Today we talked about smoking...she's 11.

This year gathering with my friends is different; last year the school was in toma (on strike). So we could go hang out every night of the week; this year they are proving to me that they can be responsible and study non stop..crazy...I've enjoyed my time at the UTA though; sitting, chatting, playing tennis, improving my Spanish 😊

Some of them joke with me that I have more friends in Chile than they do. It's just my personality to meet people and converse...I do love walking downtown and always seeing people I know; whether it's someone's host family, a friend from last year, or a store owner who has just become an acquaintance through passing by every day.

Funny Amy moment to leave you with: I got into a colectivo (cheap taxis with set routes) to go home the other night, carrying my art supplies from teaching Rodrigo's mom. The driver asked what I was holding; I had a screen in my hand. So i started explaining how I was teaching art classes here in Chile and they were supplies to make t-shirts. He turned and looked at me and said; wait, are you AMY? The girl from USA that is going to teach at the UTA? hahahhahahahahha His daughter is signed up to be in my class on Monday...and apparently she was talking about me and my class to him all day. He was so excited to meet me and talk that we passed my stop and kept going for several blocks before I could divert his attention to dropping me off. I was in that colectivo for almost 30 min (should have been 10) haha. Small world. Love it.

Always good to hear from you! Time for me to get to bed believe it or not; no dancing tonight. Tomorrow I'm going to observe the new years celebration of the Aymara (indigenous group). We have to leave before 5am to see the sunrise in the valley. Should be a fun dia de padre!

Happy fathers day to all the papas reading this 😊 Adios amigos


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



23rd June 2009

green soup????
Hola amy, right on. I love to hear about the children. You obviously are a real light in the lives of these people. That we all could make such a difference in life--it would be my wish. Thanks for the updatesl, the pics and the lessons in love. jacquelyn

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb