Arica, Chile and Tacna, Peru


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Arica & Parinacota » Arica
April 3rd 2008
Published: April 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

El Morro de AricaEl Morro de AricaEl Morro de Arica

the imposing hunk of rock looms 110m over the city
Today was a travel day as I´m on my way to Arequipa, Peru. Having had a comfortable ride on my way from Calama I set out to see Arica for only a few hours before heading off to Peru. My only real goal was to hit the beach and dip my feet in the Pacific (something I try to do for some reason when I encounter a major body of water).

Arica is somewhat drab but isn´t without some charm. Somewhat strangely, Arica is a surfing town. Apparently, Arica´s treacherous waves host high-profile surf championships. The biggest breaks are north of town but I did see some pretty big waves at the beach I strolled along just south of the city centre.

The border crossing was an adventure, not that it was difficult, just time consuming. There aren´t many long-haul buses that cross the border to Peru, so, the common practice is to take a taxi or collectivo across to Tacna, Peru (about 50km north). The drivers are very well-schooled in the routine but for a first-timer I thought it was a rather drawn-out affair. Once I´d selected a vehicle and agreed upon a price, my driver went about
perfect location for a restaurantperfect location for a restaurantperfect location for a restaurant

this is in a very picturesque spot
finding a few more people to fill-up the remaining seats and fill-out the appropriate paperwork. I´m not sure why the paperwork took so long but about 45 minutes later we were on our way. Upon exiting Chile I was given a FULL security check (not sure what I could have done in the 2 days I was in Chile). I´m surprised they didn´t finger print me (I noticed an electronic finger print machine at the border window). Conversely, entering Peru was quite easy. A quick stamp of the passport and a few inquisitive questions about my backpack from the customs officials (asking about all the flag patches I have all over my pack) and I was on my way again.

Upon arriving in Tacna the whole process had taken over 2 hours. I immediately booked a bus to Arequipa and thought I had 10 minutes to catch it ... but I´d forgotten to set my watch back one hour, so I actually had some time for lunch. By complete fluke I wound up getting an awesome fish fillet with rice and veggies (when I looked at the menu all I knew was that I was ordering something fried and
macro flower shotmacro flower shotmacro flower shot

from the garden in front of the aforementioned restaurant
it came with potatoes). Nice call by me.

The rest of the day was spent on route to Arequipa in the most comfortable bus in which I´ve ridden on this trip (this was the first one with a bathroom on board ... a fortunate coincidence as I was also suffering from a bit of an upset stomach and other ailments about which I´m too polite to write). Must´ve eaten something that disagreed with me in the last day or so.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Iglesia San MarcosIglesia San Marcos
Iglesia San Marcos

at Plaza Colon (the central square)
El Morro de AricaEl Morro de Arica
El Morro de Arica

the imposing hunk of rock looms 110m over the city
sailboats, lighthousesailboats, lighthouse
sailboats, lighthouse

this is the first time I´ve been to the Pacific coast in the Americas
big wavesbig waves
big waves

it´s hard to get a good photo of waves
cool cactuscool cactus
cool cactus

from the garden in front of the aforementioned restaurant
flowerflower
flower

from the garden in front of the aforementioned restaurant
waves through the treeswaves through the trees
waves through the trees

from the garden in front of the aforementioned restaurant
Aduana de AricaAduana de Arica
Aduana de Arica

the former customs house, through the fountain at Plaza Colon
Tacna´s cathedralTacna´s cathedral
Tacna´s cathedral

not a great picture, got it on a drive by
Tacna´s cathedralTacna´s cathedral
Tacna´s cathedral

not a great picture, got it on a drive by
drawings on the hillsdrawings on the hills
drawings on the hills

the view from the Bus Station in Tacna
Tacna from afarTacna from afar
Tacna from afar

this continues to be a pretty desolate landscape


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb