Chile here I am!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Arica & Parinacota » Arica
November 4th 2006
Published: November 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am in Chile. I arrived yesterday after a horrible, smell, stuffy bus ride from Puno on Lake Titicaca. After six weeks, I finally managed to leave Peru. . . I wasn´t sure I would. Entering Chile felt as though I've entered a new phase of my travels. The first few hours in Arica, felt as dazed and confused as I first did in Ecuador. However, Arica is quite a bit smaller than Quito and I got myself oriented quite quickly.

I met up with my friend Nadia after taking an easy morning. We decided to continue with the vida tranquilla and take an easy afternoon as well. We messed around with some hair dye and drank some wine. . .

I also have yet again changed my travel plans. Before experiencing the dread of long, sleepless bus rides, I felt as though I could handle bussing my way to Santiago, only to return to Bolivia. Yesterday, I decided otherwise. Instead, I´ll be bussing tonight to San Pedro de Atacama, finding a four day adventure (trek, bike etc.) and then heading to Bolivia through the Salar de Uyuni. This leaves me travelling up to Sucre from Uyuni by myself for a week. Even though I left California alone, I´ve spent so little time actually alone that it scares me a bit to think of having this unplanned week. I know I can handle it and will probably enjoy it, but I feel a bit anxious with anticipation.

Since I last wrote, I headed to Puno and the Islands in Lake Titicaca for about four days with my Swiss friend Andreas. We managed to get along well travelling--- I think we had similar styles and expectations. The lake itself was beautiful! It was so nice to see water again, to get out in the fresh air, and I ended up really liking the vibe in Puno. The Island tours were, however, so touristy they would make you gag at times. But they were also beautiful and I appreciated the people I met--- other tourists and the Island locals. We managed to get two beautiful sunny days. The boat ride out to the Islands was three hours and we were all out on the deck of the boat. At one point on the way back, we stopped the boat to jump in the lake . . . bras and underwear baby. . . The lake was FREEZING, but refreshing as well 😊 Picture the middle of Lake Tahoe early spring. . . Yup, COLD!

I hope all is well with my friends and fam! I'm sad to be missing the Apple Party today. . . Save me some juice pops!

Advertisement



10th November 2006

aventuras...
I look forward to reading about your upcoming adventures in Chile! Hurry- Spring is dissappearing fast from Central Chile. One question... where are all the pictures? :)
11th November 2006

Pictures
I am posting my photos at--- http://new.photos.yahoo.com/e1obrien/albums/ Check them out :>

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb