My home in the desert CONTINUED


Advertisement
Published: October 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

"A hall of a house""A hall of a house""A hall of a house"

The long hall in my host family's house
When we arrived at the house I couldn’t see much except a big wire cage (the "garage") in front of a bright yellow gate that was in front of a bright yellow house. The gate led into a tiny patio and then we proceeded to go through two more doors until we were finally inside. Once I entered all I could see was a long hallway with doors off to the right. Dodi (the 8-year-old son named after Dodi Alfaed) showed me into the second room, his room, decorated in blue with toys and drawings everywhere. He then proceeded to tell me that this was my room. He was going to share his mother’s room.

I dropped off my bags and was led out towards the small living room. On the way I met the grandmother. She is very petite and looks as if she could break at any moment and the only name I got to call her was “la Nena”(which I didn’t know what it meant until I looked it up in the dictionary and found it to mean “the Baby.” Hmmm, let’s just hope in Chile there’s a different translation). Next, came another surprise. In the kitchen
My host mom, NancyMy host mom, NancyMy host mom, Nancy

My host mom made pizza for Día del Niño (Children's Day).
was a middle-aged that I was introduced to as Eliana. She is the younger sister (mid-40s) of my host mom. Eliana has never been married and still lives with her parents. I instantly felt as if she did not approve of me being there. But I couldn’t dwell too much longer because I had yet to meet “el Rey.” Yes, in this family they introduced me to the youngest one, Matias, as “the King.” Mati is almost 2 and is very, very cute with huge black eyes. He was a bit shy around me at first, but by the end of the night warmed up to me.

So there in this tiny hall of a house in the small living room/dining room, I sat down with my host family for the next 6 months. Surrounding me were two elderly GREAT grandparents, my middle-aged host mom, her middle-aged sister, her 8-year old son and her 2-year old grandson. The only person I hadn’t met was the 17-year old daughter. Who I was told is rarely home. This was a lot to take in. I have never lived with 7 people in a cramped area with one bathroom. Why they added
The big gift opening on Día del NiñoThe big gift opening on Día del NiñoThe big gift opening on Día del Niño

In the back Mati, Lesly(17-yr old & Mati's mom), Eliana and the grandma. Dodi is in the foreground with the turtle on his head.
a foreigner into the mix is beyond me.

Dinner was served in courses of salad, soup, the main dish and then dessert. And when I say served, I mean 6 of us sat down and the grandfather would take our plates and then bring us each subsequent plate. It was like being in a restaurant and the waiter was the 70-something grandfather in the family. Probably for the first time in my life I ate everything that was in front of me; including beets, some weird brownish soup and overly salted rice. Even though my feelings and thoughts were doing overtime, I knew I couldn’t be a rude house guest. My mother taught me well.

That evening as I settled in I became overwhelmed. I felt so out of place and so unwelcomed. And not by the family directly. Despite the initial pleasantries they really hadn’t asked me much about myself. Everyone was preoccupied with something else. Not that I wanted to be the center of attention, but I sort of expected some curiousity. This made me feel out of place and questioned why they wanted me here. I had assumed families who were wanting to take in volunteers would have an extra room and extra time. This family had neither.

The evening kept getting bumpier and bumpier. Next the host mom told me there was no space for me to put my clothes, so I best just keep them in my bags. I had to fight back the tears. I did NOT want to live out of my backpack for 6 months. Then I noticed (why I hadn’t earlier, I don’t know) that the door into my room wasn’t a regular door, but a frosted glass door. You know, the doors that you can see through but can’t see clearly because there is a pattern in the glass? Yeah, that’s the one. Then when I wanted to open my curtains to see the view I got a view into the grandparent’s bedroom instead. What was once a poorly built sliding-glass door is now one of my walls. That night when the grandparents watched TV it might as well have been in my room as well. I could hear everything. The tears started to roll.

Advertisement



18th October 2006

HANG IN THERE!
Erin, Hang in there! What an experience. I've enjoyed reading your entries - thanks for including me. I'm thinking about you -- FEEL A HUG! Patti Sprong
19th October 2006

It's gotten better since then...................!!
Hey, Erin-I know you've had to put up with alot over the years living with your own family. Now's your chance to enjoy someone's else family. Please show your graditue(? it's late). Things will improve and the countdown begins. Enjoy your time. You'll miss them when you leave. Love, MOM

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb