Vacaciones en la Carretera Austral, 420km en bicicleta parte 3: entre La Junta y Villa Vanguardia / Holidays in Chile's Carretera Austral, 420 km of mountainbiking part 3: between La Junta and Villa Vanguardia


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Carretera Austral
January 13th 2010
Published: September 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Este es un blog en español e inglés. / This is a blog in Spanish and English (the English version is at the bottom).



El 12 de Enero, después de un buen descanso en Puyuhuapi, seguimos la ruta hacia el norte. Ese día dormiríamos en La Junta, el pueblo más grande de ese sector y que queda como a 50km de Puyuhuapi.

Como a los 30km, ocurrió lo que había temido que pasara: se rajó el neumático trasero y no me quedaban de repuesto. Paramos a la orilla del camino y empezamos a pensar en distintas opciones; hacer dedo a una camioneta que me llevara a la Junta y ver si me podía conseguir un neumático ahí, seguir en bus o a dedo hasta Chaitén, etc. Pero no estuvimos en eso más de 10 minutos cuando providencialmente pasó el único bus que hacía ese trayecto sólo dos veces por semana. Logramos parar el bus y rápidamente desarmé la bicicleta y subí. El conductor incluso me cobró menos de lo que costaba el pasaje. Mientras me veía subir al bus, Poli lo único que quería era subirse también y llegar en bus a la Junta, pero no la dejamos. Hasta el día de hoy, Víctor y Poli me sacan en cara que no hice todo el trayecto en bicicleta.

Caminé por el pasillo para buscar un asiento y de repente escuché que alguien decía mi nombre. No le tomé ninguna importancia, ya que no soy la única persona que se llama Daniel. Pero escuché que alguien decía mi nombre de nuevo y cuando miré, vi a Jaime Gaete, mi ex Jefe del grupo Scout en que habia estado hartos años antes. Coincidentemente, él, junto con un grupo de scouts, estaban recorriendo ese sector de la Patagonia. Fue muy entretenido el encuentro y aprovechamos de ponernos al día con nuestras respectivas vidas, después de bastante tiempo sin vernos.

Llegando a la Junta, el chofer del bus me dejó en el pueblo y tuvo la amabilidad de darme algunos datos de dónde podría encontrar neumáticos para la bicicleta. Al bajar del bus, me encontré con otros dos scouts a quienes tampoco había visto hace años. Ellos tenían que continuar su viaje y yo tenía que solucionar mi problema. Lo primero que hice fue llevar mi bicicleta hasta la Tenencia de Carabineros. Ahí pedí dejar mi equipaje mientras iba de un lado para otro viendo si podía encontrar neumáticos.

La Junta es un pueblo de unos 1300 habitantes y su nombre proviene de su ubicación entre los ríos Rosselot y Palena. El pueblo además, cuenta con todo tipo de servicios.

Lo primero que hice fue ir a una ferretería. Me dijeron que no tenían neumáticos y me dieron el dato de una vulcanización. En la vulcanización me dijeron que el neumático no se podía reparar y me mandaron a una tienda en donde me dijeron que podrían tener neumáticos. Llegué a la tienda y efectivamente tenían neumáticos, pero no se veían de muy buena calidad. de todas formas compré dos y en la misma tienda me dieron el dato de un señor al que le decían "don Luis" que trabajaba en un supemercado y al parecer reparaba bicicletas. Fui al supermercado y don Luis me dijo que fuera a su casa como a las 8pm y que a lo mejor me podría ayudar.



Tenía tiempo todavía antes de las 8, así es que fui a buscar alojamiento y finalmente opté por el hostal "Copihue", un hostal - museo, no muy caro y bastante bueno. Después fui a buscar mis bolsos a carabineros y me devolví al hostal.

Todavía tenía que esperar a Víctor y a Poli y de alguna manera encontrarme con ellos (no teníamos señal de celular). Afortunadamente, en uno de los instantes en que salí a la calle a dar una vuelta por el pueblo, ellos justo venían llegando.

Una vez que se instalaron en el hostal, le pedí a Víctor que me acompañara a la casa de don Luis.

Al llegar a su casa, me parece que no estaba, por lo cual nos tuvimos que devolver, pero más tarde don Luis pasó por el hostal (yo le había dicho dónde nos estábamos quedando) y me pasó dos neumáticos usados que no utilizaba. No quiso nada a cambio. Resultó que los otros neumáticos que había comprado eran de tan duros y de mala calidad que no pude instalarlos. De los dos neumáticos que me pasó don Luis, uno estaba en buenas condiciones y el otro tuve que desecharlo. Finalmente, el neumático de don Luis me sirvió para llegar hasta Chaitén y lo utiliza por bastante tiempo después. Solucionado el problema.



A la mañana siguiente seguimos nuestro recorrido rumbo Villa Vanguardia, lugar del cual no teníamos mucha información. Al salir de la Junta, vimos un cartel grande en donde todavía se puede leer "Carretera Austral General Augusto Pinochet U.". Desde La Junta hasta Villa Vanguardia fueron como 40km si no me equivoco. Es una villa que fue creada mientras se hacían trabajos en la carretera austral, para albergar a topógrafos y civiles relacionados con el proyecto. Son 10 casas en total, todas iguales. Villa Vanguardia casi no aparece en los mapas.



Al llegar al caserío, pensamos que íbamos a tener que acampar en algún lugar. Pasamos a una de las casas que decía "supermercado" a preguntar si es que había algún tipo de alojamiento por ahí.

Resultó que el supermercado no era más que la despensa de la casa. Igual compramos un paquete de fideos y salsa de tomate.

En esa casa nos dijeron que había una casa desocupada y que el dueño había dejado las llaves por si alguien quería pasar la noche ahí, por 9.000 cada uno. El precio nos pareció razonable y nos tomamos la casa.

La casa estaba totalmente amoblada y con varias de las pertenencias del dueño. Eso sí, el baño apenas funcionaba, no había agua caliente y la cocina tampoco funcionaba, así es que terminamos cocinando con la cocinilla de camping. Después, a dormir.



---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



January 12th, we continued our trip, after having had a good two day rest in Puyuhuapi. That night we were going to sleep in La Junta, the biggest town in that area. It's about 50km from Puyuhuapi.

About 30km from Puyuhuapi, the thing I was dreading would happen, finally did: the back tire of my bike ripped on its side and I didn't have any more spares.

We stopped on the side of the road, thinking about the different possibilities, including hitch-hiking to La Junta and see if I could maybe get a tire there or from there get a bus to Chaitén, etc. We didn't have to wait too long to make a decision, because providentially, about 10 minutes later, the bus that goes between Puyuhuapi and La Junta (only twice a week), went past us. We managed to stop it and I quickly took the front wheel apart and put the bike in the luggage compartment. I got on the bus and the driver charged me less than the usual price, sympathetic of my situation I guess. While Poli watched as I got on the bus, she really wanted to get a ride on the bus as well, but Víctor and I didn't let her. Up to this day, both of them tease me about not having done the whole 420km by bike.

I walked down the aisle of the bus to get a seat and I heard someone call my name. I didn't pay much attention, because I thought they were calling another Daniel. But I heard someone call my name again and when I looked, I saw my former scout group leader, Jaime Gaete. I hadn't seen him in years and by chance, he was traveling with the scout group in this particular area. It was great seeing him again, and we had some time to catch up on each other's lives.

When we got to La Junta, the driver gave me a few tips on where I could go looking for tires. When I got off the bus, I saw two other scout leaders that I hadn't seen in years. But they had to continue their trip and I had to solve my bike problem. The first thing I did was go to the police station and I asked if I could leave my things there while I walked with the bike around town. The Chilean Police Force (Carabineros) are most reliable and professional and as I expected, they had no problems helping me out.

La Junta is a town of about 1..300 people and its name comes from its location being in the middle of the junction of the Roselot and Palena rivers. The town has all type of basic services and it's a good place to buy things and provisions.

The first thing I did was go to a hardware store. They told me they didn't have any tires and gave me information about a vulcanization. In the vulcanization they said the tire was ripped beyond repair and gave me further information on a store where I might find tires. I went to the store and they had new bike tires so I bought two. In the same store, they told me about a man, don Luis (something like "Mr. Luis") that worked in a supermarket and he repaired bikes in his house. I went to the supermarket, found don Luis and he told me to go to his house after 8pm, when he finished his shift.

I still had time before 8pm, so I went to look for a place to stay the night and I finally chose a hostel by the name of "Copihue" (name of Chile's national flower). It's a hostel/museum, good price as I recall and a pretty good option. After that I went back to the police station to get my bags.

I still had to wait for Víctor and Poli and somehow manage to find them once they got in the town (our mobiles didn't have signal there). Furtunately, when I went for a walk in town, I happened to see them as they arrived in La Junta. Once they settled in their rooms, I asked Víctor to accompany me to don Luis' house.

When we got to his house, they told us he wasn't there so we had to go back (I think he was in a soccer match or something like that). Anyway, he hadn't forgotten and later he went to the hostel (I had told him where we were staying at) and he gave me two used tires. He didn't want anything in return. It turned out, the 2 new tires I had bought were such bad quality and so stiff that I couldn't install them on the wheel. Of the two tires don Luis gave me, one was in good condition and the other I had to get rid of. Finally, I used the good tire to go all the way to Chaitén and actually continued using it for months later. Problem solved.



The morning after we continued our trip to Villa Vanguardia, a place we didn't have much information of. After leaving la Junta, we saw a big sign that read "Carretera Austral General Augusto Pinochet U.", the original name of the Carretera Austral. From la Junta to Villa Vanguardia I think it must be about 40km. It's a 10 house village that was created in the 80's (I think) for civilians such as topographers and technicians that worked in the making of the Carretera Austral. Villa Vanguardia is so small that it doesn't appear in some maps.

When we got to the village, we thought we were going to have to camp in the open somewhere, which was a viable option. We went to one of the houses that had a sign that said "supermarket" to ask if there was any possibility of a place to stay.

The supermarket was nothing more than the house's pantry. We still bought some pasta and tomato sauce.

In that house they told us that there was an unused house which the owner had said that it could be rented out if people asked for a place to stay. We got the house for 9.000 CHP each, which we thought was a reasonable price.

The house was fully furnished and most of the owner's belongings were still there. The toilet didn't function properly, there wasn't hot water and the stove didn't work either, so we ended up cooking the pasta with sauce in our small camping cooking gear. After that, off to sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 30


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb