The beach, sleeping at the airport, and first day in Mato Grosso


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo » Ubatuba
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

friends out at the barfriends out at the barfriends out at the bar

Me, Julio, and Liane
After three days at the beach, its finally time for me to get to work....

Pedro´s aunt and uncle have a beautiful house and bed and breakfast in Ubatuba, on the coast between Sao Paulo and Rio, so we went there to take in the beach for a few days between work commitments. Pedro has some cousins our age, so it was fun to just hang out, bum around during the day, and go out at night. Here in Brazil, like in much of the world besides the US, young people typically live at home until they get married, so EVERYONE is around. It´s nice actually, because you always have someone to talk to, do stuff with, eat with, etc. - its like a giant slumber party all the time.

Turns out I am bad luck though, because after something like 50 days of no rain, it rained almost the whole time we were there. All the brazilians told me over and over its just not that pretty there when it rains, its much better with sun, but I found it really beautiful all the same. To get in as much time at the beach as possible, though, this involved us taking the bus back early in the morning yesterday to return Campinas, then me basically turning right back around to take the bus back to Sao Paulo to "sleep" in the airport to catch an early morning flight here to Cuiaba...uhhh, i´m so tired!

But it was all worth it, the beach was super fun, rain or not, and the sun did shine for most of our last full day there so I got to enjoy some beach time and get a little bit of a tan. One of the beaches near Ubatuba, that we didn´t go to, is where the surfing championship is held - the beaches we went to were a little bit further north and almost deserted...mmmm...

Cuiaba, the city I am in now in Mato Grosso is....hot. So far this is about all I know, but tomorrow I am supposed to meet with some people at the soy producer cooperative, Aprosoja, to work out a plan for me to get some data, get to know them, travel to Sinop, etc...Its hard to get motivated to work after a few days of just relaxing, but it looks like I´m gonna have some cool
The Pier in UbatubaThe Pier in UbatubaThe Pier in Ubatuba

nice even in the rain
opportunities here, so I´m sure it will get more exciting once I start. And get some more sleep.

I am staying in Cuiaba with some friends of Pedro, again, with "kids" my age living at home with the parents, and they are so, so nice. I have been so fortunate on this trip to have so many people who don´t know me at all, going out of their way to help me out, let me stay in their house, feed me, etc.

Sounds like this weekend while I am here in Cuiaba, there will be some sort of mini-carnaval (Mardi Gras) here - which is cool since I have never gotten to come to carnaval in Brazil. Pedro´s friend Jana is supposed to take me out, so this should be fun. Pictures will be forthcoming, of course....


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

UbatubaUbatuba
Ubatuba

me at the pier in Ubatuba
Center UbatubaCenter Ubatuba
Center Ubatuba

on a walk to the fish market - the city part of the town
Fish MarketFish Market
Fish Market

the fish market in Ubatuba - by far one of the nicest and least stinky I have seen in Latin America!
WallWall
Wall

Just a picture of a building in Ubatuba
FishFish
Fish

Fish at the market....mmmmm
more fish marketmore fish market
more fish market

yes, that fish is bigger than me....
My room at the innMy room at the inn
My room at the inn

Pedro´s aunt Sylvia is an artist - their whole house is beautiful. this is just the room I stayed in at the bed and breakfast there...
KitchenKitchen
Kitchen

They are remodeling - this is their 'temporary´kitchen - it has a roof,but it is totally outside. so cool, so pretty - i love the colors...
Praia do FelixPraia do Felix
Praia do Felix

Our deserted beach...
Praia das ConchasPraia das Conchas
Praia das Conchas

a beach we had to hike to - the whole thing was sea shells and giant boulders smoothed by the ocean....and of course, totally deserted...
Praia das Conchas IIPraia das Conchas II
Praia das Conchas II

a wider view of the beach...
taken from the Praia das Conchastaken from the Praia das Conchas
taken from the Praia das Conchas

there were a lot of waves crashing that day - and the water was freezing!
after a day at the beachafter a day at the beach
after a day at the beach

at a deseted barraca getting ready to go home after the beach...
Praia VermelhoPraia Vermelho
Praia Vermelho

Vermelho means red - still don´t know why it is called this since there was nothing red on the beach that I could see, but beautiful all the same


16th August 2008

praia vermelho
Sounds like Red Frog Beach in Bocas that was totally lacking Red Frogs! Have fun, get some work done!
16th August 2008

red frogs
You didnt see any red frogs? Man, I did...sounds like things are worse than I thought there!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb