The week I turned 24....


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo » São Paulo
March 9th 2009
Published: March 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The bartenderThe bartenderThe bartender

Caiprinha time in our bar!
A new week is history and a new week has started...

For the first time in a few weeks we have been in the same city for over a week. So maybe not as much to say now compared to earlier blogs. Being in the same city means we have actually settled and I now feel like i live in Sao Paulo.

As mentioned, the week has been pretty normal. I have attended classes, down homework, done some readings, worked out and gone to parties. On the sports side I can tell that I have joined the FGV (Getulio Vargas - old president/dictator) Volleyball team. Last Friday I even had the pleasure to play a few sets in a practice game against Medicina USP (University of Sao Paulo) in addition to a normal practice. Of course I have to mention that we went home with 5-0 victory 😉

Since Sao Paulo is a large city we have also started to explore other parts of the city. On Wednesday Kristian and I and a bunch of other exchange students went to an area called Vila Madalena. This area has tons of bars and we had the pleasure of trying out local beers from all over Brazil. Good to try something stronger than the classic light pilsner they sell everywhere!

Last Friday we also went to a school party called Cervejada (from the word Cerveja also known as beer). A fun experience which in the same time was a challenge after a volleyball game and an extra workout before that again. A few hours closer to dawn I could walk out of the really warm place pretty much soaked. Not a new experience since all movements in 30 degrees makes a stone cold Norwegian sweat, and I can promise you that 4 hours of dancing is not an exception. This brings me in on a new subject, the heat. I will not complain, but rather inform you that the last week has been very warm. Constantly 30-35 degrees and occasional rain showers makes the place pretty humid.

So now over to a more important topic… My birthday! First I want to thank everybody for the congratulations... I truly appreciate the attention from every single one of you!
But my 24 hours of celebrating my birthday was like this: Since March 8th this year was on a Sunday, I started warming up to the day with drinks at our place with some friends, from there on we went on to a great exchange student party at a friend’s house. The perfect way to enjoy a Saturday!
Sunday morning I woke up happy and ready for a nice Sunday! Kristian and Alessandra had arranged for some people to come over for some Brazilian cake! Good to have friends you can celebrate your birthday with 😊 So cake was enjoyed next to the pool in addition to a room service cheeseburger and a dip in the pool!
The day ended with a few people going to a movie at the local mall... Nice and relaxing way to warm up for the upcoming week!

So now a new week has started and I hope you are all doing "grrrrrreat" (like Tony the Kelloggs Tiger says) wherever you are! I am enjoying life here, but I also look forward to see all of you again!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

A sunday...A sunday...
A sunday...

You can see Sao Paulo in the background!


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb