Reminiscing


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo » São Paulo
October 7th 2005
Published: October 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Welcome back to workWelcome back to workWelcome back to work

The old building that I used to work in.
Today has been fantastic. While I was on MSN Messenger I got in contact with my friend who lives in Bahia and she said that she would be picking me up from the airport. This is wonderful. As you all know this will be my first time in Bahia and there is no better way to get to know a city than to have someone who lives there to show you the way.

After having received all this good news, I then decided that I would make my way to Berrini Ave. (one of the main financial centers in SP) and go visit my old work buddies. So, first I stopped by the English language institute where I used to work and then by the consulting firm. It was great. Everyone was very surprised to see me and I had a great time catching up. Tonight, I will be going out with the guys from the consulting firm. It should be lots of fun. On a Friday or Saturday night this city can be a blast. I have no idea where we will be going but I do know that the night will begin with picanha (chopped beef that is
Roberto grabs a xburger off the streetRoberto grabs a xburger off the streetRoberto grabs a xburger off the street

Pronounced Hoberto and the letter 'x'is pronounced shees in Port. which sounds a lot like cheese. Roberto is a good friend of mine.
slowly roasted in garlic on a little grill on the table in front of you) and chop (non-pasteurized beer).

I also made time to stop by my older apartment and talk to the doorman for a few hours. Amazing how the conversation picked up from where we last left off. Basically, he was very happy to see me and we talked about our lives and then we went right back to the issue of how to immigrate to the US. Its such a hard issue, cause I know he could find work in the States and perhaps increase his standard of life, but at what cost? - never seeing his family again, perhaps dieing on the way across the border, getting to the States only to find out that he has to work twice as hard without his wife, family, and the Brazilian soap operas he loves so much. If he would understand the risks, I would say go for it. But that is the problem, I know that he won't understand the risks no matter how hard I try to explain them to him. To give you an idea, I spent 10 minutes with a map explaining to
Home Sweet HomeHome Sweet HomeHome Sweet Home

This is the building I came to call home when I first arrived in Brasil 18 months ago.
him where the US was in the world and the difference between the words America, the United States, and New York. For him, these blurred into a mumble jumble that represented opportunity and the promised land. As a sidenote, he is originally from Bahia and was very happy that I would be going to his home state.

Well, I am off to get ready for tonight - a quick nap, make some calls, and a shower. I will not be surprise if I come home when the sun is rising. That's Brasil for you! (To those of you who know Brasil, I realize that I am continuing to promote a common stereotype of Basil - pure party - but the reality is that there is a certain respect for a good time here that you just don't find back in the States.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Marcelo - The doormanMarcelo - The doorman
Marcelo - The doorman

Marcelo was so irritated that he didn't have better shoes on when I took the photo. Interesting social economic commentary, huh?


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb