jets to Brazil!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo » São Paulo
May 17th 2007
Published: May 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Asleep on the flight from Toronto, I was woken up after midnight by the flight attendant loudly asking:

CHICKEN OR BEEF?

I requested veggie, but as the flight attendant informed me, the veggie has to be pre-ordered. So I settled back to drift in and out of plane slumber and dream of my future experiences in Brazil. My heart pounded faster with excitement at the thought of the unknown.

As the plane landed flew over São Paulo, I started to wonder just how I was going to make my way around the massive city. Knowing very little Portuguese the thought was intimidating considering that the greater São Paulo metropolitan area has almost 20 million inhabitants making it the fifth most populous metropolitan area in the world!

Luckily, the guy I was sitting next to on the plane was able to give me a ride to a metro station where I needed to go. At the metro station I met up with Gabriela, who is the cousin of my friend from Canada named Adriana. Adriana and her partner Paulo live in Inuvik, NWT but are originally from São Paulo. Gabriela took me to Adriana’s parents house which is where I am now blogging from. As soon as I arrived, Adriana’s mom, Isabel, led me to a room with a king size bed and internet, and then gave me a local beer called Xingu and cashew chocolate.

Adriana’s parents’ house is full of beautiful artwork, most of which is Isabel’s who retired from being a doctor to work as an artist. Her work is originally abstract and organic. Adriana’s dad, Luiz, is a doctor and professor at São Paulo University not to mention a fabulous cook. His dishes are exemplary of Brazilian cuisine which have has a diversity of influences from South America, Africa, and Europe. The house has an impressive wine cellar and 5 Akitas that act as the security system - which I’m sure is more than adequate considering that Akita’s have the second most powerful jaws of any dog!

My first day in Brazil has been great! Tomorrow I head to the International Permaculture Conference with Paulo’s cousin Alexandre.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb