Brazil Magic


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo » São Paulo
May 12th 2007
Published: May 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sao PaoloSao PaoloSao Paolo

Sao Paolo from the air
So after spending the past week with butterflies about coming to Brazil and arriving in Sao Paolo which is apparantly quite dangerous, I have arrived and have fallen in love with this place within 24 hours. Arriving at the airport a little late because the plane was delayed I attach myself to a couple of English girls who are going to the same hostel, it´s always better to be in a group. Thinking of catching a taxi which is very expensive because was unsure of whether to catch public transport late in the afternoon, but once I speak with the lady at the information booth she assures me that it´s safe and especially so today because the pope is in town. Thanking the catholics now as it saved me around $30. So off we go into Sao Paolo and the whole trip is great as everything is new to my eyes and we are lucky enough to have an amazing sunset to match. Make it to the hostel without feeling even a little bit threatened and realise we are actually in a very nice neighbourhood that is very safe to walk around in at that time (mum you´ll be happy
Road north to ParatyRoad north to ParatyRoad north to Paraty

Village on the way north
to know). I am amazed at the size of this city, it´s apparantly bigger than Rio now and holds around 18 million people - which is nearly the whole population of Australia. On our way in we see a whole range of living situations to the beautiful big high rise apartments, big houses with security doors to what looks like favelas (slums) on the side of the road with huts made out of anything that can be found. I become aware early that there is a big gap between the wealthy and the poor here. Not planning on staying long in Sao Paolo as the beach is calling and my head is hurting with my cold and I need time out on an island for a while. Head off the next day north and this is when I really get to see a bit more of Brazil and is the time when I do fall in love with it. Lush green hills all the way down to the ocean, beautiful beaches that rival Australian beaches, colourful villages on the coast in the middle of the hills, surfers everywhere, smiling happy people, amazing coast line and definately a place that I
Road north to ParatyRoad north to ParatyRoad north to Paraty

Coast line on the way north, it´s like this the whole way
could easily get used to living in. After six hours I arrive in a small colonial town called Paraty which is very safe and a good place to relax for the night. I wished I could stay longer here as the town is full of old buildings along blue stoned roads, friendly people everywhere and has a great feel but I am in need of an island so I stay one night and off further north the next day to Ilhe Grande. I am already glad that I decided to come to Brazil for a couple of weeks just to check it out....and it is already high on my list for places to come back to.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 22; qc: 104; dbt: 0.0928s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb