Here I am finally....


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Paraná » Foz do Iguaçu
January 8th 2006
Published: January 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Gruten Hostel BlumeanauGruten Hostel BlumeanauGruten Hostel Blumeanau

This is the Hostel
Here I am finally in the beautiful country of Brazil. I Last Night I just crossed the border. Accompanied by my good friends, Carmela and Ricardo, and their sleeping baby Ema. She is so cute she calls me, Yes!

We crossed the border tranquilamente ( with out problem) . It was dark and very very hot...all i wanted to do was get somwhere if air conditioning. My friends are very nice but they did not have air and its very hot right now here and humid. It´s 90 degrees here and very humid. So last night when i got here to the youth hostel... i was so happy when they said would you like a room with air. It was 18 reales like 9 us Dollars or so. But I was willing to pay it to get a nice cool place to sleep. The hostel is very nice it has free break fast and a nice size pool.

I will be leaving today for Blumeanau, Santa Catarina... one of the most modern states in Brazil. Widely Inhabited by German Immigrants in the late 20th Century. Someone said to me its like little germany an dthere are no black people. So I am like let see if there wrong. LOL I seem to always go places where I am the only dark brown face lol.

I bought the ticket last night .. it was quite expensive about 40 US dollars from Foz to Bluemenau. I hear its about 2 hours to the ocean from Blumenau. I have a interview tomorrow with the English Institute there in Blumeanau. If what they offer is good I may stay a while and work for the institute that would give me an opp to improve my Portugues even further!

Well Until tomorrow or next time. Jeffrey Scott Jr Signing off from the Beautiful sub-tropical country of Brazil! Fica Na Paz!!!!!

Advertisement



18th January 2006

Foz de Iguazu
I'm heading to Brazil Feb. 8 and was wondering, since you've been to Foz de Iguazu, how many days would you suggest is sufficient to take in the falls and the surrounding area? I planned on 4 days, but I'm now wondering if 9 would be too many. I'm finding it difficult to find a hostel elsewhere due to Carnaval and am considering staying longer at the falls.

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb