Wet


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Pará
March 22nd 2016
Published: March 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

none


2016-03-17 09.25.402016-03-17 09.25.402016-03-17 09.25.40

This little bugger sat on my back, it fell down from a mango tree
I brought my rain gear with me and religiously put it on rain threathened, but after two day I came to the obvious conclusion that wt from the outside or wet from the inside aka sweat, made no difference to me. So when the clouds darken and the drops start to fall I lower my visor and keep on without rain gear.

It's incredible though how quickly you get wet, as in soaking wet in about 30 seconds.

Well I haven't been dry since day one but it's more sweating than anything else.

All my riding gear is humid and sticky and probaly smelly which will keep the Zika mozzies away.

Brazil is a very large and very green country, so far I've done about 7000 km and it's green everywhere, the landscape is mostly a rolling dito, of course there are long boring straights but no cold side wind so it beats Patagonia hands down.

The locals who are a motley crew with all skin colours represented, blondest blond right out of Sweden to the darkest of African origin.

So far everyone has been nice, petrol is not to expensive most of the food is good or better, BUT and this is a big but I can't converse with anyone, basically no one speaks a foreign language and having had loads of fun with the people in the rest of the Spanish speaking parts of this continent it pisses me off, my fault for not learning Portugese.

My original plan was to ride up to Belem and catch the boat to Manaus and follow the Amazon up river to Manaus, that was until I found out that it'll take a week.

So I thought some hardcore riding would do me good, the Trans Amazonic highway to Santarem and the a couple of days on a boat.

I knew Brazil is kind of large, actually the fifth largest country in the whole world, but here the distances blow your mind or rather mine.

From Fortaleza to Santarem it's a good 300 km, fancy seeing that on the GPS, distance remaining 3096 km.

But I'm here for the ride, I really couldn't care less about beaches and besides which the Brazilians have a penchant for lots of high rises next to the beach, not my cup of tea.

Salvador's old colonial part was nice but it's over an done with in a couple of hours.

Salvador is known for it's many touts and pick pockets and sundry other lowlife, hang on to your wallet an camera.

Tourist season is over, so most resorts are dead.

So the days goes as as follows; cafe do manha( morning coffee), pack up and preferably leave before 7 am which means a little while of comparatively cool morning air, then ride to the next stop over, get some brews dinner and then it's about bedtime, next day repeat and on and on.

The locals get up early, last sunday there were people at the beach at 7.05 when I rode past.

I'm now in some godforsaken town in the Amazon basin as my map is wrong the road the locals pointed me at ends up in some swamp.

An early day, aka another hotel with internet so that I could get on Google maps and check out reality.

Few pics as everything looks the same, green green and some green thrown in just in case.

I've started to drive through some Indian reservations and poverty seems rampant, you're not supposed to take pics.

No blonds and no curly hair anywhere.

In some places they, the injuns, stand at the side of the road with a string across the road, they pull it up to make you stop and give them money.

Poor wankers, especially when you see bulldozers galore clearing out the forest so that they can grow soy and help Macdonalds sell cheap burgers.

Life never turned out well for the minorities in any conquered country that I've been to.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

2016-03-16 07.56.182016-03-16 07.56.18
2016-03-16 07.56.18

The tallest guy ever in his place, me andnow I have my name on a shell


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb