I am Espiga, hear me roar!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Minas Gerais » Belo Horizonte
August 8th 2006
Published: August 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My Capoeira GymMy Capoeira GymMy Capoeira Gym

GUTO is the name of my instructor
After practicing capoeira for almost one month I have shown to the class and my teacher, Guto, that I have learned the 8 different sequences and that I am ready to move on to the next level. Thus the baptismal ceremony....

At the end of every class there is a jogo, a capoeira session if you will, where they actually play capoeira in the roda (circle) and not just practice the sequences. In a jogo, there are no rules... you can do any movement you like to try to out-play your opponent. Before, I was only allowed to watch and clap my hands with the music, but yesterday at my baptismal ceremony it was my first time to actually participate in the jogo. I was called forward by Guto and was matched with Juan, who is a yellow belt (the third level). We cartwheeled into the roda and the game began. I could feel his experience because it was me mostly dodging his attacks, but I countered with a few good kicks of my own, but every time I would attack he would sweep out my planted foot and force me into a negative (a defensive move where you lie close to the ground in almost a pushup position). By the time I was getting tired, Guto signalled for the jogo to stop and Juan and I shook hands and took our places outside the roda.

Now it is tradition in capoeira when a student completes their baptism that they are given a nickname. Everyone around the roda gave their suggestions and the concensus was... Espiga. It means an ear of corn. They gave it to me because I am tall like a corn stalk. I thought it was very cool! At first it doesn´t sound too dangerous, but the just think... I could POP out at you like an exploding kernal of corn without warning.






Roda Jogo


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

berimbau´sberimbau´s
berimbau´s

the main instrument which provides the rythem for Capoeira
Atabaque´sAtabaque´s
Atabaque´s

The traditional drum
Sequence 1 Sequence 1
Sequence 1

one of the 8 sequences I had to memorize


9th August 2006

Holy high kicks batman!
I am totally impressed...Cartwheel would take me a good twenty years to learn...those that can't do...teach
12th August 2006

Did you have to put the close-up picture of your blistered feet?! Oh man you're hilarious, I was cracking up at the whole Espiga- pop out in your face thing. Too much. I've always wanted to learn/do capoera but it looks so hard!
14th August 2006

You know, pop corn is always a bitch when it gets stuck between your teeth! You could be that anoying pop corn! Espiga!Espiga! Nobody is going to want to take your stuff every again. Very cool Cheers!

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0975s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb