Brasil 3 - Ghana 0


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Minas Gerais » Belo Horizonte
June 27th 2006
Published: June 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Maria and I Maria and I Maria and I

A friend of a friend of a friend I met at the BBQ
I ended up watching the game at home for the first time. Silvestre has a TV room set up with a projector and a screen that automatically rolls down from a slot in the ceiling. A pretty sweet set-up if you ask me. The game was a bit ealier than the others, at 12:00 noon, so we only worked until 11:00 and then we had the rest of the day off.

I ate so much for lunch that day that I was nearly falling asleep during the second half. Why is it that whenever I´m away from home I tend to stuff my face?? The same thing happened when I was in E.A. where I gained 10 pounds!! For example... yesterday we went out for sushi at lunch time. It was a really cool place actually. Basically buffet style sushi resturant where you take as much as you want and they weigh your place at the end to determine how much money you owe. Anyways, I ended up going back for a second plate and I almost ate one kilo of food. I felt like such an idiot because everyone was waiting for me to finish, but it was so
"The Goose""The Goose""The Goose"

Gustavo and his antics!!
good and I hadn´t had sushi in a long time (me trying to justify it, lol). So, from now on I´m trying to cut back the binge eating a little bit. I think it is just a comfort reflex when you are in a strange place with new people.

Anyways, back to the game. Brasil won the game 3 - nill, but you know... that wasn´t enough. The people of Brasil really have high expectations of their beloved football team. From what little I know about football, a 3 nothing win is pretty good in a sport that doesn´t have many goals scored to begin with. If Brasil doesn´t win the cup this year I think the country is going to riot! Well, on saturday, Brasil plays France in the quarter finals and it should be a good one. There is a little history between these two teams. France was the team that beat out Brasil… twice!!! So everyone is excited for the game, feeling confident too, but there still is that little reminder that they could easily get beaten again by the french.

Following the match I went out with Gustavo to a friend of his who was having a BBQ. This basically happens everytime there is a match. I got to meet some of his friends, but definitly a different crowd than Carolinas friends. Gustavo and his friends are more the quiet, stay at home and watch movies people, while Caros friends are more outgoing and party people.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb