2014 World Cup - Day 11 - France vs Nigeria


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Distrito Federal
June 30th 2014
Published: July 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

France vs Nigeria


Gameday!!! France against Nigeria at Brasilia’s National Stadium.

I took a bus to the stadium pretty early because I wanted to check out what is the second most expensive stadium in the world (if I’m not mistaken). This probably just means a lot of the money ended up in someone’s bank account instead of going towards the stadium. The stadium is pretty, looks new, and there’s not a bad seat in the house. I was in the upper level (level 4 or second ring), and there you feel very on top of the field. The stands are steep up there, but even though I was up high, I was very happy with my seats (better than Porto Alegre). The outside of the stadium is littered with cement pillars I thought were going to be painted. Nevertheless, it does look cool from the outside.

As with Porto Alegre, no problems whatsoever making my way to the stadium, hanging out outside and making my way inside the stadium. Super safe, everybody having a good time, taking photos with each other, putting paint on, etc... Once inside, I grabbed a beer and watched the stadium fill up. For this game, I was surrounded by Brazilians so it was fun to chat during the game a bit more. They were mostly cheering for Nigeria and were all very funny. Every now and then, the stadium would erupt chanting “NIGERIA, NIGERIA”, as did I. Haha

In the first half, Nigeria played pretty well but neither team threatened. I can’t recall a real goal opportunity. My impression was that the teams were playing patiently, slowly, perhaps due to the heat. You see, it’s winter now in Brazil and the temperature on game day approached 30C. Walking outside, you really felt the sun and heat. I can understand why players are struggling to finish games, sometimes being substituted due to exhaustion.

In the second half, France took over the game. Nigeria couldn’t retain possession let alone threaten France’s net. After France had numerous changes over a 5-minute period, you could sense the goal was coming. On a corner kick, I pulled out my camera to take a photo because I thought something could happen. Sure enough, the goalie came out to tip the ball (which is the photo I got) right to Pogba’s head: 1-0 France. A few minutes later, they went up 2-0 after a silly own goal. That pretty much sucked the energy out of the Nigerians. France was moving on. So I now follow France’s path to the Final.

After the game, I went to the nearby Shopping Centre to eat and watched the 5pm game between Germany and Algeria. Brazilians were mostly cheering for Algeria and were really into the game, even chanting and clapping throughout the game. I was divided. France would get the winner of this game, so Germany would mean seeing a battle of titans while an Algeria win would mean a huge upset. It was a great game, one of the best of the World Cup thus far. Back and forth with lots of chances. After going scoreless after 90, Germany scored two goals in overtime before Algeria scored one with seconds left. Germany is moving on to face France in Rio at the legendary Maracana stadium.

A lot of people ask me what I think of the World Cup here in Brazil and how it compares to others in terms of organization. From what I have seen, everything is working out just fine, everyone is super friendly and helpful whenever I take buses or need direction in one way or another. The cities are clean, lots of police around to keep an eye on things and not a hint of an issue. So far so good.

One thing I have noticed (and heard), is Brazilians have changed their minds about the World Cup. A year ago, during the Confederations Cup, there were daily protests throughout Brazil, some uglier than others. I had pretty much counted on these protests intensifying during the World Cup, which has not been the case at all as they have pretty much stopped. When the ticket sales opened a year ago, a lot of Brazilians were angry and did not apply for tickets. Once the tournament began, and goals were being scored in record-fashion, the mood seemed to have changed. Everyone wants to go to games now all of a sudden, which is great. Everyone is really into it, which makes for great atmosphere. And this is the main reason I wanted to come to this World Cup, because I remember how much it was back in the day when we lived here still.



Overall, nothing but good things to say about the Brazilian people and the organizations thus far. Tomorrow will be my first real day as a tourist as I will tour the Federal Government buildings and see buildings I've seen on TV all my life. Should be fun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb