One week in....


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Salvador
November 6th 2010
Published: November 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe only a week has gone by since I arrived in Brazil. The country and the people are just completely overwhelming, as a European and even more so being English, I have to take everything I think I know and disregard it. This comes easy to me as I have been doing that already for the past nine months, which is why I have quit my job, become a Yoga teacher and arrived here. The people are genuiningly so open and warm, the clothes are bright, the bikinis are tiny, the food is plentiful, the beaches are beautiful and the sun is hot hot hot! I have wanted to be here for so long that I have to constantly remind myself that I am lucky enough to call this beautiful place 'home' for a short while. I have felt like a bubbling saucepan for the past few months, just managing to keep the lid on until I got here but it has been worth it.

Nara has helped me to find a language school, so I am starting Portuguese lessons on Monday, every morning for two weeks. They also run some trips around the city and additional lessons in cooking, dance and capoeira. I think they said they are free this month so I intend take advantage and try everything. I hope I will meet some nice people, the teachers are very friendly which is why I choose this school. I am really looking forward to starting and being able to communicate better.

After being looked after very well by Nara for the past few days, I have been left to my own devices today as she had to go to work. I wasn't that nervous as she had shown me around the area so I headed down to the beach this morning. And the fact that I am writing this now means that I am back home ok! Fortunately it was a bit cloudy when I arrived so I didn't need an umbrella, otherwise there may have been a different ending. It is very different to being at home as you have to be constantly aware of yourself, your possessions, and who is around you and what their intentions may be. Luckily I don't stand out as a tourist because if I did, especially on my own, I think it would be pretty unbearable. But I have been taught by Nara to carry my key in my pocket, and to have my change for the bus ready, and to keep my bag in front of me, so I am fully prepared. This is the only sad part of Brazil, the poverty and high risk of theft (sorry Mum, don't mean to worry you!). It is all worth it though as I had a lovely time at the beach and then headed to the shopping centre for some food (avoided the shops though, I must remember that I don't earn money anymore!). I feel like I am dreaming everything at the moment, as there is a huge shopping centre 5 mins walk from the apartment (with a huge Christmas tree and snow in the centre already, I just can't seem to get away from the snow.)

There's a party in the block next door, wish Daisy was here, we would be in there right now! But it's ok, I am hopefully meeting with Sophia, Germano's niece (Dani's brother-in-law) for a few drinks tonight, she is studying English so I am going to be really lazy and speak to her in English tonight, I won't once I start my lessons, honest!

Advertisement



6th November 2010

Hooray
You seem to have settled really well Lyana, I'm pleased that everything is going well for you, long may it continue, good luck with your portuguese classes, at least then you will be able to communicate a bit more with the friends you have made, love reading about your exploits.x
8th November 2010

Language class
Hope you got on ok today in your class, am going to try and learn a bit myself, and throw a few phrases your way, Ha Ha
8th November 2010

Tudo Bem?
The class went well today, all of us are on our own and single and about my age so I think we will have fun. Four are German and one from California. There is a girl here for 4 weeks staying with a family just down the road from me, so hopefully we can do some stuff together. Tomorrow we are going to have a samba lesson as well! x

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb