The Mishaps of the Beginnings of My Southern Adventures


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Salvador
September 1st 2009
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Flying awayFlying awayFlying away

I believe this is Alameda..I wanted to get a shot of SF or Oakland.. Oh well.
My Brazilian study abroad program starts on the 28th of August and wants the students checked into the hotel by 8PM. I flew from SFO to Houston, TX, made the connection to get to São Paulo and got to Brazil the 28th of August. Originally, I was supposed to arrive in Salvador, my final destination by 1PM. Unfortunately, there was fog in São Paulo that forced the shutdown of the airport, after circling in the air for 40 minutes hoping the conditions will improve...it didn't, and we were forced to land in Rio de Janeiro to refuel. After that, we were stuck in a line to take off to São Paulo for 3 hours. We got there around 2PM, which meant that I missed my original connection and Continental booked me for another one around 2:30PM, no, I wasn't able to get my luggage and go through customs in time to catch that flight. With a combination of long lines from delayed passengers, not being able to speak/understand Portuguese, and not being familiar with their airport, I traveled back and forth around the airport trying to find out how to get onto another flight. Fortunately-after many attempts, me and another girl
DelayedDelayedDelayed

Here I sat..watching people. São Paulo Airport
with me was able to find the Continental ticket booth which helped me booked a flight at 8:05PM, that flight was delayed for an hour, so I got to Salvador around 11:--PM and got to the hotel on the 29th of August. What was supposed to have been a 20 hours itinerary, became 30 hours.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Me at AirportMe at Airport
Me at Airport

See me trying to make the best of the situation
McDonaldsMcDonalds
McDonalds

Airport pictures taken at the same seat.
In Salvador!In Salvador!
In Salvador!

Not so good night time picture outside the hotel window


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.8kb