Lazy First Day in Salvador


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Lençóis
May 30th 2011
Published: May 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I admit the last post was something of a weak scam. I never made it to Salvador during it. Feel free to take that as a reflection of just how f*****g long a journey it was over the Atlantic. I digress...

Exiting Salvador airport made me extremely happy for so many reasons, though the largest contribution was undoubtedly thanks to being greeted by the smiling familiar face of Ines. I don't know for certain, but I imagine the smile disappeared when we hugged and she caught a whiff of me...

We took the local bus vaguely in the direction of Barra and seemed to meander for quite some which allowed us to catch up on events over the past several months. This was broken up by the sounds of several shots being fired which caused my testicles to retract in a fashion I thought only ninjas were capable of performing.

Fortunately, Ines reassured me, it was only some children setting off fireworks in advance of a festival next week. I've chosen to believe her, even if that makes me lame for being scared of children...

Eventually we made it to my rather fine hostel, I checked my gear in and we went out for a quick drink before she had to catch her bus home.

I had a couple more drinks in the hostel and spent some talking talking to some Sao Paulo lads, before turning down going out and hitting the hay. That may not sound like me, but I was dead and afraid of bumping into children out there.

I write from the sea view balcony of Che Largarto hostel having had a particularly lazy day. I wandered down the sea front to see the Christ statue that watches over the and at the other end of the beach, the lighthouse, which was the first build anywhere in the America's. No comment on which one I imagine does a more useful job, but I will say that are both interesting to look around.

On my wander I saw plenty of beautiful Brazilian women in bikinis, which was balanced by an abundance of Brazilian men wearing inadequate sized shorts.

That was it for my day so far really other than a minor adventure. I went to a small supermarket and brought some bread and cheese. I have lazed on this balcony ever since. Hard life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

How to avoid hawkers...How to avoid hawkers...
How to avoid hawkers...

... hide behind their displays.
Farol da BarraFarol da Barra
Farol da Barra

The first lighthouse built anywhere in the America's
Forte Santa MariaForte Santa Maria
Forte Santa Maria

"Get off my land"


Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 25; qc: 106; dbt: 0.1351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb