Week Seven...


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Lençóis
October 20th 2009
Published: October 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi all!

Another exciting week here in Lençois.

The kids decided to behave themselves a little better, you´ll be glad to here. We have a new volunteer, who is now living with me in the project house. He is a 28 year old from Recife in the north of Brazil. He is really nice, but for now I reserve my judgement as to how well the housing situation will work. At least he is a clean freak, so I don´t have to housetrain him!

Things continue to go well for me here, and my Portuguese is coming on in leaps and bounds. I´m even getting some of the local slang down to a tee!

The highlight of my week was a trip to the nearby town of Igatu - a pretty little place with only 400 inhabitants. Why? It was the premiere of the film Besouro, which is starring one of my best friends here, Coquinho. They chose to premiere it there because much of the film was shot there, so it was all very exciting. The film is awesome - there has been some Oscar buzz surrounding it already as best foreign film but we´ll see about that. It has international distribution rights so may well make it to the U.K - keep your eyes open!

All is well here, missing you all as always!

x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb