Rachel and Nora devour Argentina


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina
February 21st 2007
Published: February 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just wrapped up a fabulous 11 days in Argentina. But before I start rambling with stories and photos, I have to send a big thanks to Nora, my travel buddy and translator. She was my linguistic link to the big, scary Spanish-speaking world and tried her best to keep tabs on me. During the few moments she wasn’t by my side, I found myself in men’s toilets and plunging off of cliffs. I must learn to hablo espanol. Thanks for your patience Nora!!

Nora and I traveled through Argentina from Feb 9-19, 2007- we spent time in the big city and in the quiet mountains; we frolicked with old friends and with new friends; and we consumed plenty of steak, ice cream and wine. A condo in the Palermo Viejo barrio of Buenos Aries served as our home base. Our first 5 days in Buenos Aires were lazy ones. No schedule nor structure. Plenty of sunshine, naps, spa time and late nights. “What should we eat today?” was the first thought of every morning. Old buddy Marcos served as a terrific concierge and partner in gluttony. He introduced Nora and I to Las Lilas and Olsen, picked great cuts of
PalermoPalermoPalermo

Mangos for sale. I love mangos!
steak and wine, served as our cemetery tour guide, shared mate with us, planned our Tigre trip, arranged for free transportation on the cardboard train, told tales of Maradona, and secured a lung transplant for Nora. Gracias Marrrrcos!!

During the second week of our travels, Nora and I hopped a bus cross-country to Mendoza. Our 3 days in and near the Andes were filled with vineyards, trekking, repelling, rafting, scrapes, bruises, and perhaps a broken toe for Nora. But it was all worth it! Even when we had to squeeze our sun burnt, broken bodies into wetsuits under the blazing hot sun- still worth it! The nighttime explosion of stars in the clear southern hemisphere sky made the aches disappear.

The final leg of our trip was spent back in Buenos Aries. I must admit, Palermo started to really feel like home. Nora and I grew so attached to our sprawling café-filled barrio. As the end of our holiday grew closer, the gluttony increased exponentially. We ate an entire meal of dulce de leche treats! We ate street meat! And our slightly illegal friends, Manu and Leo, introduced us to some fine pizza. Can someone please arrange for a delivery boy on roller blades to bring me El Cuartito pizza in Pittsburgh?

So now it’s back to the real world for a little bit. Although I am now miles away, I will strive to live the Argentinean good life in as many ways as possible … I will refuse to sleep between 9 pm and 5 am … I will call ice cream shops and ask them to deliver to my home … I will fill my wine cellar with Malbec … I will push dinner time back later and later everyday, eventually dining at 3 am … while driving I will ignore all lanes and stop signs…I will spread dulce de leche on everything … I will riot in the streets for Boca … and I will set aside more time for friends, family, good times, naps, delicious food and pleasure! Ciao ciao!



Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Puerto MaderoPuerto Madero
Puerto Madero

Bridges and dead fish make me nostalgic for Millvale
Trekking (or repelling without rope)Trekking (or repelling without rope)
Trekking (or repelling without rope)

Nora and I wound up seperated from our group a mere 4 minutes into the trek. Thanks to Flavio for being a one-man rescue mission.
We repelled from just below this point,We repelled from just below this point,
We repelled from just below this point,

and the River Mendoza in the background is where we paddled.
everyone's a red head.everyone's a red head.
everyone's a red head.

so much bad luck
Nora goes first,Nora goes first,
Nora goes first,

while I stay behind for my repelling lesson in english, which consisted of "lean back, now bye-bye"
Park the raft on the river bank,Park the raft on the river bank,
Park the raft on the river bank,

and roll into the little swimming pool in the shadows of the snow-capped Andes. Reggae. Beer. Life is good.


26th February 2007

great blog!!
looks and sounds like you both had a fantastic time!!! good for you--2007, year of travel!! Nora sent me the blog site. i LOVE the blog!!! i want to figure out how to do it!! with the pics it's fantastic!! hope your re-entry isn't too bad:) hope all is well! Jenna
2nd March 2007

Jealousy
I am green with envy, it looks like it was a fantastic trip--may the memories stay with you. LB

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb