a Correcting Experience of Buenos-Aires and the Views of the End of the World


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tierra del Fuego » Ushuaia
December 27th 2007
Published: February 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

On the 7-8/12 there was a big couchsurfing camping
weekend planned in Tigre (near BsAs), and I told
myself that I could justify comino back to BsAs if I
find a decently priced flight to Ushuaia (the
southernmost city in Argentina). So I spent a very
long day in Mendoza looking for it, but in the end I
found a flight that had one more place with a discount
to foreigners that flew here with Aerolineas
Argentinas. So after spending a day in San Rafael
(stayed in a hostel where I was the only guest…) I
took the bus to BsAs, and spent the drive talking to a
´mashgiah kashrut´ from BsAs that sat next to me. I
arrived in the city on Friday morning, and try to
figure out how I spend the day until the camping. I
ended up in Luis´ (one of the city´s couchsurfing
personalities) apartment, I thought to go to a big
music festival that was on that night but in the end I
decided that I am too tired and went to Sabbat eve
prayed at the Chabad house and then to the dinner that
they organize to all the Israelis. The next morning we
got up and went to the train station, where we met a
bunch of other couhcsurfers and took the train to
Tigre and then a boat to the camping site. We sat down
to eat lunch and to get to know each other - we where
almost 100 ppl (check out the group photo)! After a
while, when we started to get hungry again, we started
to take out the meat for the asado - when you tell
Argentinians to bring meat some of them will bring an
entire cow! So besides for the meat, another hit of
the evening was the melon with wine (drink wine from a
melon) - it was a very cool night. The next day we
spent relaxed, mostly recovering from the night,
talking to all of our new friends… At the evening it
was time to get back, so after a very long time on the
pier we took the boat back and then got back to the
city (I had my hostel booked - and got to it very
late…). This weekend was a lot of fun, and generally I
spent this almost-week in BsAs (waiting for my flight)
very relaxed, going out mainly to couchsurfing events,
and really enjoying my time there. On Monday noon I
went to meet Telem, the guy that was a security guard
with me in camp, we had a good steak and caught up on
what we did on those months… At night I went to Bomba
del Tiempo - a really cool drumming show (hundreds of
drummers!) - with a whole bunch of couchsurfers. It
was really good, and then we went to the after-bomba
that was very relaxed but became boring after a while
(a mix of weird theatre and music shows). That day was
also the inauguration of the new president, so when I
walked around with Telem we could see the
celebrations, the demonstrations, the cars and horses
parades… It is a very political city, there is some
demonstration every day, and a lot of them on that
day… The next day I walked around with Telem too, we
went to a movie and said our goodbyes. On Wensday I
went to the Japanese Garden that was nice for a while,
and then to a couchsurfing party at some apartment
that was sort of mine and an Italian girl´s goodbye
party, which was a lot of fun. And then (instead of
sleeping) I took the bus to the airport. I was so
tired that I don´t even remember the takeoff (fell
right asleep), and landed in Ushuaia tired but happy,
because even from the airport you see how pretty it is
(a big change from BsAs). It is a small city with nice
houses surrounded by snowy mountains and a canal. My
hostel had all sort of weird rules about hours it is
active in, but had an amazing view. I spent my
afternoon walking around the city and enjoying the
views. The next day I walked to a nearby mountain - it
had good views and all of the things that I couldn´t
get in Israel - a lot of snow (in the summer - I
walked around with a T-shirt) and river you could
drink from… Then I went back (with a couple of French
guys from my hostel) to the city through a really nice
trail that follows the river (and a little bit trough
the marshes when we lost the trail 😊 . At night, the
regular hangout was cooking (yes, me, cooking) at the
hostel. The next day I went with a girl from
new-Zealand and a Swiss couple to the Tierra Del Fuego
Natural Park, we walked around for a day - some trails
were really nice (beaches with green stones), and some
were more boring (forests). It was a nice day, but not
amazing view like some ppl said. The next morning I
took a boat ride to some nearby islands that had a
wholebunch of sealions and birds on them, but what I
enjoyed the most was the view - when the boat sailed
away you could see the city with all of the snowy
mountains around it and the island, I took almost 50
pictures… From there I continued to Chile, and
hopefully I will write about it soon. In the meantime
I uploaded some more photos.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb