Antarctica! - Days 1-2, Ushuaia and World Voyager


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tierra del Fuego » Ushuaia
March 7th 2024
Published: April 4th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Our day started at the 3:45 breakfast at the Sheraton Hotel. It was a nice buffet breakfast with a large room full of other guests that were probably going to be our fellow passengers. I think many people were just waking up so it was a mostly quiet experience. We were on the second group to leave on chartered buses, departing at 4:30am. Our names were checked off and we sat in silence for the 35 minute trip to the EZE airport. From there, our group followed a guide directly to the security line as they had given us our boarding passes on the bus. Since it was a domestic flight, we were in the waiting area pretty quickly. It was very crowded though, and not a very large area, so we found a seat where we could nearby. I was hoping there would be a pharmacy or something because overnight I had come down with a nasty cold and could not stop my runny nose. I was worried about my ears popping on the flight (rightly so, as it turned out).

As our time approached, there was still no call for our flight, even though all other flights were announced and updated, so we made our way over to our gate and we were among the last to arrive apparently. We were on the last bus with just about 10 other people. But our seats were up front in the aisle and we had minimal hand luggage. I sat next to a nice older lady who midway through the flight gave me a whole pack of tissues as she noticed I was suffering. I was mostly just annoyed - I mean, yesterday was the hottest of the trip and aside from my sunburn, I felt great so far. Whatever; this typically happens to me when I do long haul flights and 25 hours of flying a few days before must have caught up to me.

Ushuaia and Tierra del Fuego National Park

We arrived at the airport, collected our checked bags, and gave them to some guys outside of the arrivals area, who would then take it directly to the boat. We were among the first to leave the building, so just marveled at the scenery in front of us! Mountains behind the cute little town. We got on another chartered bus, same grouping, and made our way to Tierra del Fuego National Park for a short 'cultural immersion tour'. We had a super friendly guide who gave us a bit of history and context for where we were and what we were seeing. She said the mountains outside are about 1300m with the snowline around 600m. They look much bigger!

Our first stop once inside the park was Ensenada Zaratiegui, which is a beach and bay area that is notable for having the southernmost post office in the world. We only had about 30 minutes, so I went straight there with the intention of sending my family postcards. I got in, picked a few cards and started writing. By the time, I looked up, the line was out the door and it was not moving very fast at all. After waiting 10 minutes, I just wanted to put the cards back but I had written on two of them. After another 10 minutes of little movement, I was ready to put them back anyway. I could not understand the hold up - it was cash only! I realized the hold up was just one guy working and everyone was getting not just stamps for their postcards, but stamps in their passports. So when I had just 5 minutes remaining to get back to the bus, I walked to the front of the line and gave him my correct cash for my four postcards and walked out. L had come in briefly and wisely left so he got better photos of the area. I was irritated a bit, but at least I had my postcards.

Next stop was the Alakush Visitors Centre. Here we could use the toilets, get souvenirs and look at their mini museum which should information about the flora and fauna, as well as the native tribes that had lived here previously. I will probably look further into the native people, but I know one of the tribes was in this specific location and they basically did not use clothes at all and were notoriously smelly. They lived their lives in and around the water, with the kids learning to paddle boats at a very young age so the mothers could dive for things like clams and crustaceans. Very interesting about people who were able to survive in these harsh conditions.

Next, we went just a little further for some photos at the beautiful Lake Acigami. Very peaceful lake with mountains in the background. Our final stop was Bahia Lapataia, where there is a wooden pathway that gives you views over the bay and with the plains and mountains behind you. It was just beautiful. A successful day at this beautiful park. However, I would like to stay here longer if I return and I recommend you do as well. There is lots of hiking and the End of the World train that takes you from the city to the park. Plenty to keep you busy for another day or two.

We returned to the city and stopped at the port where we got views of our ship waiting as well as just the lovely scenery of town, sea, and mountains. I still could not believe I was here!

World Voyager

After the tour, our bus dropped us off directly in front of our home for the next 11 nights. Boarding and getting our assigned stateroom, 509, was so easy and everyone was so friendly! The room itself was a perfect size and tastefully decorated. The closet space was more than enough (I think cruise enthusiasts may disagree), the bathroom very nice (shower had rain, side jets, and nozzle with combo options), a small couch, and a nice balcony with table and chairs. Amazing! There was an observation deck at the bow on Deck 5, which we used a few times, but it was quite windy.

We initially met in the Atlas lounge on Deck 4, which has a bar and nice seating area. Just behind it is the auditorium where we would later have lectures or informational sessions, such as a meeting to discuss the boarding procedure for the zodiacs. On the aft side of Deck 4 is the Madeira restaurant where we ate our main (delicious) meals. There is also Paula's Pantry, where you can get coffee and small bites or pastries. Deck 4 also had reception, the spa, and the sauna, which I went to a couple of times, having it to myself with views of the sea outside.

Deck 6 had additional rooms and the Bridge, which we were invited to visit a couple of times.

On Deck 7 is the Dome Observation area at the front of the ship, here you get 270 degree views. I often sat up here first thing in the mornings after getting a hot chocolate from Paula's Pantry, usually all by myself for about an hour, just watching the scenery and occasional whales or penguins. The Lounge had a bar and was typically the happening place at night. We also had our afternoon tea up here, which we did 2 or 3 times. There is also a pool and hot tub area outside, but it was usually quite cold; the pool bar was closed. Above on Deck 8 is a track, which I had hoped to use frequently, but it was too cold and windy, and often icy.

Deck 3 was crew quarters and the mud room where we would get dressed for our excursions. From there we would board the zodiacs as well.

So, overall, the ship was the perfect size for the approximately 164 passengers plus crew. The entire trip was very well organized and I can't wait to tell you more about it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



5th April 2024

Good luck crossing the Drake Passage!!!
I get seasick too easily to attempt such a feat.
5th April 2024

Seasick
Yeah, my sister gets very bad motion sickness. I don't, in fact, I usually enjoy things like riding the waves. I was hoping to have the 'experience' of crossing the Drake, but it was fairly calm, you could barely feel any movement.
23rd April 2024
Tierra del Fuego - post office

Frustration
I could feel your frustration. I'm glad you made it in time. I've never had a couch in my room on a ship. What a treat.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb