Chicas in spray on blue jeans


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Santa Fe » Rosario
September 30th 2005
Published: June 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Rosario monumentRosario monumentRosario monument

In the centre of this beautiful city in Northern Argentina.
Hello World...

Welcome to my brand spanking new travel blog and here begins the first posting of a travel journal which is a tentative yet exciting first step for me ... and hopefully an informative and entertaining diversion for you. Life on the road develops a particular rhythm and after two weeks mainly in northern Argentina I'm beginning to feel the beat, as I ease into a six month journey to discover the joys of Latin America.

Sydney is a big city, the lovely reader, and after an uneventful flight via Auckland on 17 September my port of arrival was Santiago, which is a big city. But this is South America and I'm very glad to be here. I spent four enjoyable nights at a hostel in Barrio Bellavista which is a very popular area in Santiago for bars, restaurants and nightlife. There's always plenty going on after dark so it was great to be right in the heart of the action from the outset. What better way to begin my travels than to meet up with two friends, both of whom were already in Santiago upon my arrival. My visit also coincided with Chilean celebrations for the national
Rosario ParkRosario ParkRosario Park

The city centre was absolutely immaculate, and pretty as a picture.
holiday long weekend, so it was all go for the first weekend overseas on this trip. We were out and about every evening, and a bit of local knowledge from my friends really added to the experience. It seemed every evening we headed off to the happening venue in town, and I had a great introduction to Latino culture with good friends to lead the way. A highlight was meandering through Park O´Higgins on the sunday, which was teeming with Chileans celebrating the holidays and visiting the chock-a-block stalls.

It was soon time to move on and north is the plan. I farewelled my friends in Santiago and booked a bus across the Andes to Mendoza, Argentina. The road over the Andes was quite spectacular with regular 180 degree turns onwards and upwards. I captured the scene on handycam as the trucks and buses snaked up the mountains and through ski runs in a conga line to the border. I travelled for three days with two Americans I met on the bus who are studying english in Chile, and popped across the border for a sticky beak. Mendoza is a beautiful Latin American city featuring wide paved boulevards that are lined with mature trees and a thriving outdoor dining and cafe scene till late. Prices are far cheaper than in Chile and I believe the food is markedly superior. I then travelled to Cordoba via San Juan and then further east to Rosario. All three cities are beautiful as are many of the women who grace them. Blue jeans for the ladies are all the fashion in this country, and worn so tight they look as if they have been sprayed on but I digress. Where was I, er ... that´s it, the travel journal!

Speaking in spanish is a huge challenge, which at times can degenerate to farcical levels on my part. For example yesterday morning at the hostel a spanish traveller asked me the time. No problem, I told him it was 11:00am. Then he asked me what time checkout was, I told him 12 and he furrowed his brow. Something didn´t seem right, he walked out of the dorm and I scrambled for the dictionary. He must have been thinking this hostel has the latest checkout in Argentina because in trying to say midday I had actually told him midnight! Oh well, you live and
Dining out, SaltaDining out, SaltaDining out, Salta

Great food, cheap and plenty of it.
learn from your mistakes.

In summary, my introduction to Santiago and northern Argentina has been a wonderful experience. It's so exciting to gradually become immersed in Latino culture which will be my home for the next six months. This is a part of the world where people are truly born to live, and share a common passion to live life to the fullest. My first few weeks in Latin America have been surprisingly cheap with great food, a vibrant culture and beautiful cities. The friendly people and exhilarating Latino culture reminds me of the travel saying, basically all of you should be here now!


"Words ought to be a little wild, for they are the assault of thoughts on the unthinking." John Maynard Keynes


As I continue my travels, until next time it´s signing off for now

Tom

Note: Feel free to post comments on this site, or click on the subscribe button for notification of upcoming travel journals


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



30th September 2005

Nice blog
Nice photo of monument too, what is that thing? Also, what height did you reach when you travelled over the Andes?
1st October 2005

Latino wonderland
Hey mate, Great to hear from you... please feel free to give more vivid descriptions of the native ladies! Ren
1st October 2005

more pics
Tom, the travel blog is a great idea - more pictures please!
3rd October 2005

About time!
Hey Tom, glad to hear you're enjoying yourself! Northern Argentina sounds beautiful. We leave Sunday next so make sure you get to Peru by late Oct & we'll catch up soon!
4th October 2005

A little more scenery
Some more photos would be great! You give an interesting & vivid commentary, please add some more photo's! Have fun
4th October 2005

Photos
Tom, great initiative. What a great way to follow your adventures. But I must join with Jim in calling for more photos. We know you can take great pics with that digital of yours so where are they all? One pic is normally worth a 1000 words but in the case of those spray on blue jeans I think the going exchange rate might be closer to 2000 to 1.
6th October 2005

Great place to be!
Hi Tom. What a great trip you are having/in for. I was in Argentina, Bolivia and Peru in 1989 and enjoyed everything - except the stomach sickness acquired on Isla del Sol in Peru. Don't miss Iguazu whatever you do, be prepared to take about a million photos. Stay well, looking forward to your next instalment. JB.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb