waiting...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Santa Cruz » Río Gallegos
April 2nd 2011
Published: April 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm in rio gallegos waiting for my bus to puerto madryn. The bus trip from punta arenas to rio gaallegos wasn't that exciting. When I came to Chile it was snowing on the Argentinian side and sunny in Chile; now again, sun in Chile and rain in Argentina...but the weather changes quite quickly here in the south. At least it's getting warmer and puerto madryn should be quite nice.
How do you know you're in Chile (or at least in Punta Arenas)?
1) nobody drinks mate
2) traffic light and police everywhere
3) you don't understand the people 😊
4) salsa, bachata, merengue everywhere 😊 and rafaga!
Chile usually switches to winter time on the 2nd of April, but this year they decided to do it on the 7th of may. Apparently, not all Chileans know this...if you can avoid it don't plan any meeting, bus trip etc for tomorrow in Chile 😊
Recently my meals changed a little bit: I tried trucha in Bariloche (ok) and salmon in Punta Arenas (good). Now I'm back in Argentina, though first dish = meat and first religion = football, but since I'm on the coast I hope for some sea food.
It isn't actually part of my ARGENTINA trip but still quite important at the moment since I spend a lot of time thinking about it: I have to decide about where I do my PhD. I do have an offer in Fribourg (CH) and one in Tübingen (DE) and UK promised to answer as soon as possible; thus, tough decision ahead. And Bern paid a part of my current trip by awarding me the first prize for having the best marks of the biomedical science master students, together with my collegue Pauline.
Well, my bus should leave in about 1h and I'll be in Puerto Madryn at noon. More about this wonderful country and hopfully some pictures (I have currently around 850) soon. And since i like repeating it: comments are very welcome, even nice ones 😉

Advertisement



2nd April 2011

Thank you!
Hiya Katja, Thank you for the news of your journey. I found your blog by chance whilst researching South America in for my son who is flying out to Santiago from Australia late April. Best wishes from UK :) Best wishes Ann
3rd April 2011

chalt?
wrum hesch río gallegos übrsprunge? ischsdr zchalt dert im süde? dr ferdi magalhães hät sicher fröigha am wätter wo du a sire stras erläbt hesch. mir warte alli gspannt uf di akündete pix ...
3rd April 2011

u.a.
why I didn't go to Rio Gallegos? 1) yes, I was looking forward to the warm north 2) Rio Gallegos is boring (according to the guide) and not very beautful ( I passed by), there's nothing to see and the park would have been too far 3) and Puerto Madryn is worth the extra day! It's very beautiful here.

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0955s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb