Son John in San Juan


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » San Juan » San Juan
July 7th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

CatedralCatedralCatedral

Plaza 25 de Mayo
Two and a half hours of travel on a virtually empty bus got me to San Juan, a sunny city of broad streets and (finally) shops with flip-flops. Though this was really only a waypoint on the route to the national parks further north-east, I figured I'd stay a night in the hope of catching up on some sleep. The area is supposedly on a fault-line with as much potential for a Big One as California but the ground showed commendable firmness for the 20 hours that I was in town.

After my visit to San Agustin (blogged separately), I had a short time to kill in San Juan before catching a bus north, a period which produced the third cash offer I've received for my laptop from a complete stranger since I arrived in South America. It seems as though the punitive taxes on imported electronics are more of an issue than a 3 year old machine that my thunderous typing has blanked out all the commonly-used keys on. There's definitely a good business opportunity for smuggling in computers from the States (though I've been interested to note that when I use the word "America" here, people think I mean "South America" rather than the USA).


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 16; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb