Cachi


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Cachi
January 5th 2009
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Oh how plans change! I discovered that to get across to the northern side of Chile to go to the desert it will be a 2 week wait for a bus! I am already behind schedule so have decided that I will go straight to Bolivia once I have finished my exploration of this part of Argentina.

We had another big BBQ here at the hostel on Saturday night and I met this German girl who had hired a car and offered to take me and the english guy (I had prev met in Mendoza) on an overnight trip to Cachi and back.

Cachi is just a small town about 4 hours drive from here but it is the drive that is the best part. I can only describe it as a geologistĀ“s wet dream! It is stunning. It is only about 120k but takes that long as you have to drive through mini rivers and on a really really windy road that is cut into the side of several really big mountains. At our highest we were about 3400m up but the town of Cachi is at about 2800m.

We arrived and found a triple room for about A$10 each for the night. We walked around, shared a botlle of very nice red and had an early night (12.30am).

The German girl is a bit crazy. Big, Blonde and speaks in a really strong german accent. She actually lives in Switzerland and speaks lots of languages including Russian and some african languages but is a relative beginner in English and Spanish - she is learning both of these at the same time! It has helped me with my spanish though as she speaks half and half in both languages so defintlely helps me to figure out what is being said.

She originally comes from East Berlin and always did very well at school but because she aired her views too loudly during school (political views) she was told that she would never be able to study any subjects past school age which meant she could never acheive her dream of becoming a doctor. Once the wall came down she was able to travel and study. It is amazing the lives that people have led! Now she is the leader of big rescue teams in Switzerland and trains doctors in intensive care. It did make me feel quite safe with her.

She is a crazy driver though as she is used to driving at crazy speeds through Germany and Switzerland on winding roads in the mountains. What should have taken us 4 hours to return instead took us 2.5. Lots of fun.

Well, I am going to attempt to get a haircut tonight in Salta (I really hope it is not a disaster) as I do not know when I will next be in a decent sized town. Next stop is Purmamarca to see the mountain of 7 colours followed by Humahuaca. As I lost my guide book I am not quite sure what is there but Delphine told me I have to go so I will!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

CachiCachi
Cachi

Children were playing outside here at 12.30am on a Sunday night! Crazy Argentinians.
More Mountains....More Mountains....
More Mountains....

The scenery just keeps changing.
High in the CloudsHigh in the Clouds
High in the Clouds

This was taken at over 3000m just before we began the descent back into Salta.


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb