A hidden gem in Cachi


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Cachi
February 26th 2008
Published: May 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Northern Argentina


After hours of driving on a dirty road from Cafayate to Cachi, I saw a sign "Casa de Campo La Paya", saying in French that it was the place where Europeans want to stay. An impulse of curiosity pushed me to explore that place even though I didn't necessarily want to end up in a French hangout. I thought that place would be a few kilometres from the turn but the dirt road was being endless. It was getting late and I was getting impatient to get somewhere as the night was starting to fall. I was about to turn around to continue my way to Cachi that was a few kilometres away when I started to see more signs announcing La Casa de Campo. I thought it was an abandonned house as everything was so quite. Not sure whether I wanted to check that joke or not, something was pushing me towards that place so I parked and got inside when I was welcomed by the owner. Their house was beautifully decorated, a big country house where you really put your luggage down and just enjoy and rest. I met Tom, a Danish tour guide who had just came back to his native Argentina after leaving in Denmark for pretty much all his life. He was accompanying two clients from Denmark. We watched the sun come down on that beautiful valley, followed by a succulent and unforgettable dinner. I was extasied of happiness when I saw the room and its beds made of rocks! I never made it to Cachi that evening like I had to plan and I was so grateful that I went out of my way to find that really well hidden gem. That evening, the four of us felt that we were sharing some very special time far away from the world and we were...


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb