More from Bariloche: The Night Before Easter


Advertisement
Published: April 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So yesterday was pretty much a wash since we checked out of our hostel at 10am and couldn’t go to our new hostel until 3pm. We sat in a bar and drank a lot all afternoon, hence the barrage of social networking and the semi barbaric blog entry from yesterday. Although that first picture of me on the blog from yesterday is a horrible but great one, after taking one of the worst shots of tequila I have ever taken in my entire life, I think my face says it all. We had some empanadas after our booze fest and headed to our new hostel and we all passed out and slept for like five hours until around 8pm or so. Joey and I went down to the common area and had some beers which were pretty much the only thing that was making me feel better. We had our free dinner that is included in the price of the hostel, it was chicken with potatoes. It was actually pretty good once you put enough salt and pepper on it. Brett came down and joined us and we chatted for a while. I was talking online to Marjo and Doortje and catching up on how their trip was going. I really miss those girls and it blows my mind that it’s only been just over a week since we parted ways. I talked to Marjo for almost an hour on Facebook chat and then Brett decided he wasn’t going out with Joey and I so we went up to the room and tried to get into it however the lock mechanism was broken! We spent a good amount of time messing with it and then the girl who was working at the hostel came up and tried to fix it as well however it wasn’t working. Everyone was perplexed as what to do and how we were going to get into our room, it was us three and another guy in our room, Rodrigo. So I put my shoulder into the door decently hard and it opened! The lock was busted and they fixed it this morning but at least it was open and we were in the room. I took a shower and then Joey and I headed out to South Bar first and had a couple Frambuesas which is a raspberry craft beer that is high in alcohol content and delicious at the same time. We had two of those and then we went to Wilkenny which is the Irish place closer to our hostel. It was filled with dudes and hot and not that cool. We had some Speed and vodka drinks, speed is the Argentinian Redbull. After that it was about 3am and we made our way to Dusk, a club that was actually pretty cool. We spent the rest of the night there doing some dancing and drinking Fernet. We got back to the hostel at 7am and as we were getting back, Rodrigo’s alarm was going off for him to wake up! Hahah it was pretty ridiculous. We slept until about 2pm and got up and went to get some food. Joey and I were the only ones around, Brett went on a hike outside of the city by himself since it was a nice day out and he wasn’t boldly hung over like we were. We ate some empanadas at a little place by the city center and then walked down to the lake and took some more photos from a few different vantage points. On our walk back to the hostel we saw a guy carving some huge wooden blocks with a chainsaw right in the main square, we snapped some photos and continued on our way. We came back to the hostel and I wanted to sleep really badly however I knew that if I did I wouldn’t sleep tonight and I need a good night’s sleep after the debacle that was last night. I sat on the internet for a while and wrote some of the blog, updated Facebook and I talked to my friend Mayra that I met in Lima. She is really sick, she has Leukemia and it’s pretty bad. Her condition has been worsening quickly and tonight she goes into the hospital for three days. She is really scared and very sad. I didn’t really know what to say to her but I just tried to be supportive and let her know that I cared and that I would do my best to be there for her. It wasn’t all that pleasant of a conversation but I didn’t expect it to be. Afterwards I talked with Marjo which cheered me up a lot, she is always so sweet and kind, and she was hung over as well I guess the girls went out to a club last night until the lights came on, a similar situation to mine! Brett got back from his hike and we sat around for a while talking, we then went to the grocery store to get some food for our 28 hour bus ride tomorrow to El Calafate. We made dinner reservations at a very nice restaurant nearby and Joey, Brett, and I all had Easter dinner together tonight. The three man wolf pack is splitting up for the next couple weeks so it was kind of a farewell dinner. Joey isn’t coming south with us because he has less time than we do and he has other things that he wants to see on his agenda so he is heading north towards Buenos Aires and Iguazu Falls. We’re meeting back up in Buenos Aires so it’s not like it’s goodbye forever but still, we’ve been travelling together all three of us for almost a month so it’s going to be weird to not all be together. We’re also meeting up with Aaron Berry Cook in BA and Mattcam and Phil are coming down as well so it’s going to be a pretty nuts party I reckon. Dinner was wonderful. Joey and I got the tridente which consisted of pork, beef, and lamb as well as French fries and apple sauce. Brett got pork chops in a Malbec sauce which he said was very good too. I’m back at the hostel now typing this, getting ready for bed after a long couple of days but an overall wonderful week in Bariloche. Our bus leaves at 900a Monday and we get to El Calafate around 1pm or so on Tuesday. God what an awful long ride, I am not looking forward to it but my dad always says work is the hardest when you don’t want to do it so I am going to cowboy up and stop complaining! I’ll update when I can. Peace out everyone, hope Easter was filling, fulfilling, and I hope you all got to spend some quality time with family and friends.


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



23rd September 2011

Thanks Tom
I often take internet trips and live through others wanderings. I came across yours and want to thank you for sharing it with us! I wish you well. James

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0926s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb