Mmmmmmmmmmm chocolate


Advertisement
Published: November 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

60kms of pain60kms of pain60kms of pain

At a lookout along the way.
I had heard a lot about how beautiful Bariloche was, what with the snow capped mountains and the crystal clear lakes, and I wasn´t disappointed. This place is incredible. The views from all throughout town have you looking out over the mountains and the lake. It feels like you are in the Swiss Alps, or at least how I imagine the Swiss alps to look, and with the heavy emphasis here on chocolate, ice-cream and designer clothing, I don´t think it is far off the truth.

There is a heavy emphasis here on going trekking into the mountains for a night, but with a limited time frame, I opted against that and instead decided to undertake a bike ride around the lakes circuit. The fact that it is 60km long, and that my gluteus maximus was still recovering from my last biking adventure, or even that I have probably never ridden more than 10km in one stint in my entire life, should have stopped me from doing it, but no. I am so glad I did it, as the views and the experience were incredible. I have never seen such amazing vistas in my entire life. The lookout from Hotel
60kms of pain60kms of pain60kms of pain

Views from the road
Llao Llao was impressive to say the least, as was the trip up a chairlift to the summit of Cerro Campanario. However, I have woken up today discovering muscles in my legs and arse that I never knew existed!

After about 15kms I knew I was in trouble, so I had to take my jumper off, fold it up, and stick it in my pants as extra padding for my weedy arse! I have never thought that having a fat ass like Andrew Graham would have come in handy, but yesterday I would have loved to have had the extra padding.

Whilst here, I have also been partaking in the cities favourite pastime - namely anything to do with chocolate. Hot chocolate, chocolate ice-cream, chocolate fondue…..you name it, they have it. The ice-cream here is incredible, and so dirt cheap that you cant help but get stuck into it.

I have been staying at a cool little hostel called Ruca Hueney, which has been good fun. I was hanging out with a couple of Irish people for a couple of nights and that was great fun, and I have also been travelling with a couple of Danish
60kms of pain60kms of pain60kms of pain

Who´s this goose. Oh hold on - its me. At the start of my Tour De France
girls who I caught the bus down with from Mendoza. We went out last night to enjoy the local nightlife, which is reputed to be the best in Patagonia. It was a top night, but a word for the wise…try and avoid ´The Wilkenny´. Think Berry St crossed with a tacky Irish pub and you have the idea. Entertaining to say the least, but very debacurous. When you have a bunch of travellers waving their hands in the air to Ý-M-C-A, you know you´re in trouble.

Tonight I am heading East to Puerto Madryn to go check out some whales, penguins etc. This is where the Orca´s come ashore and take the sea-lions straight off the beach, but I don´t think its quite the season for that yet. Fingers crossed though.

Until then….



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

60kms of pain60kms of pain
60kms of pain

Hotel Llao Llao (pronounced Chow Chow)is the most famous hotel in the area. You can see why!
60kms of pain60kms of pain
60kms of pain

At a lookout along the way.
60kms of pain60kms of pain
60kms of pain

This is the prize for all your hard-work. The lookout at Point Panaromica.
BarilocheBariloche
Bariloche

I came here at 3am last night thinking i was going to get lucky - however seems that they are just a fashion store.
BarilocheBariloche
Bariloche

View from one of the streets in town
BarilocheBariloche
Bariloche

View from the street
The busThe bus
The bus

These seats are the bomb! 19 hours on a bus just flies by.
BusBus
Bus

Sleeping like a baby!


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb