What do you call a blind dinosaur....Doyouthinkhesaurous


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Neuquén
April 27th 2007
Published: April 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I tried to pick up the piece of bone but could barely lift it. It was as long as my forearm and as thick as my head (pretty thick). It looked like wood but was as heavy as stone.

Gigantasaurous was discovered near Chocon in 1993. Estimtated to live about 105 million years ago it was the biggest dinosaur in the world and over 80% of the skeleton has been recovered. With teeth up to 30cm long, a height of 6m to his head, a length of 14m and a weight of almost 10 ton I am glad he isn´t around now to run into.

After the museum my Argentine friends cooked me up a dinosaur sized feast of meat and sausage. We ate off a chopping board in the middle of a camping area, with knives bigger than Crocodile Dundees. Dont eat the bread they warned. More meat. More meat. A carnivores delight.

Before we fell asleep, we set off in the Kayaks to explore the lake where dinosaurs once lived millions of years ago. The cliffs of yellow and red ochre were in stark contrast to the blue sky and clear water and it was
The peaceful demonstrationThe peaceful demonstrationThe peaceful demonstration

Burning slogans and photos of the government officials
incredibly peaceful to paddle along and enjoy the view.

I had been in Neuquen for a few days, a small provincial capital in Argentina improtant for its petroleum and apples. I had met my friends Alejandro and Eduardo in Bariloche and they had kindly invited me to explore their town.

Well off the gringo trail there were little other tourists - except for the one other Aussie in town who had gone to university with a dear friend of mine from Perth (miss Rachel Masters). Its a small world after all.

Neuquen is at the top of the lakes district and kayaking is a favourite pursuit. My friend Alejandro was a professional athlete in Kayaking, Judo and swimming and was Director of Physical Activity at the local University. Eduardo worked as a project manager for an Environmental Protection agency and was my part time spanish teacher.

I spent a day with Eduardo and his mum who fed me full of homemade ravioli, quince jam and icecream, insisted on doing my washing and treated me to a display of her wonderful handicrafts (she even gave me one of her scarfes to keep).

As has been the case for a while, many Argentines are unhappy with their government and its policies on security, health and education. Neuquen has experienced several governers in as many months with each being as bad as the last.

Protests and picketing in a peaceful manner are common place as the people seek to obtain a better standard of living. A recent incident where a police officer killed a teacher with a tear gas cannister while they were protesting for better pay sparked renewed anger and enthusiasm for change to occur.

I watched with fascination at a ceremony that involved the burning of several photos and effigy´s of members of parliament. Whilst it was peaceful, the chanting and enveloping darkness and flames evoked a sensation of olden times where witches were burned at the stake.

It was sad to talk to my friends and their families about their experience of the currency collapse and what it meant for them. Eduardo´s mum showed me photos of their last family holiday to Chile. It is now too expensive for them to travel outside their country and another holiday is a long way off.

I almost felt a sense of guilt at my charmed life. Able to travel as I please for as long as my money lasts. It certainly makes you grateful and feel priveledged for your freedom.

I was very sad to bid farewell to my friends in Neuquen. Hopefully one day I can return the hospitality if they make it to Australia. I think a couple of kangaroo steaks on the bbq would be in order.....






Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb