Neuquén in the middle of the pampa :)


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Neuquén » Neuquén
March 18th 2011
Published: March 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After spending my last day in the city (partyl with Andreas, an Austrian guy from the hostel), visiting some parks and the MMAMM (museum with paintings of the Andes - very beautiful), I took my bus to Neuquén. This time we didn't have any problems except for a delay of about 1/2h. Since it's very difficult to sleep in these buses, I watched the movies and looked out of the window. However, most of the time (12h) one could see only grass, bushes, and some trees, which is impressing but after a while a bit boring. But the starry sky and the sun rise were great!

The hostel here is very close to the bus station (convenient), but a bit far from the microcentro. However, the bus drivers are lovely: I took the bus to go back to the hostel after my city trip, but I didn't know that I couldn't buy tickets in this bus (normally you can either pay with a rechargrable card or with coins). Though, the bus driver didn't care and brought me exactly to the the street where I wanted to go - for free.

The city itself isn't very big (compared to Córdoba) and much less touristic than Mendoza. I walked around, had breakfast in a nice coffee shop, visited the park, the museo de bellas artes (amazing paintings by Argentinian artists, made in 2004-2010) and the museum about the difficult 70s (March 1976 coup, see entry about Córdoba).

As you know, I bought 2 books in Córdoba: the first one was a bit disappointing and I left it in the hostel, but the second one is great and you'll find an entry about it tonight or tomorrow.

Tomorrow, I'm already leaving Neuquén and going to San Martín de los Andes, which means a short trip of about 7h.

A short summary:
Córdoba: I could live there.
Mendoza: Nice for vacations.
Neuquén: Not my favourite.

PS: Sorry, can't upload pics on this computer. They'll follow as soon as possible.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb