Puertos Iguazu


Advertisement
Published: March 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My first bus journey north was quite luxurious! To my absolute suprise and relief it was nothing like the horror stories your hear about bus journeys abroad. Indeed it did not even resemble the Imka coach journies from England to Poland. In Argentina the buses have three classes, all of them serve food, all of the seats recline and movies are played all journey long. The staff are also delightful and even engage the passengers with the odd game of bingo etc.

Puerto Iguazu is nothing to write home about, although perhaps it displays the more áuthentic´South America I have been searching for. It is really just a village set up to help with the tourist influx to see Argentina´s proudest water feature: Iguazu Falls. I atyed in a hostel opposite the bus station with a pool called the Marcoplo Inn Iguazu. Through them I organised a tour for the next day which dropped me at the falls which was a distance away. In my room and on the same tour were two girls who adopted me for the day Aussie Kylie and Canadian Kendra. With them we trapesed through the Iguazu wildlife park and soaked in the glorious Argentinian heat.

To get to the falls you have to walk on a maze of metal grate bridges across the huge river marshes by the water falls. The Devil´s Throat was absolutely stunning and completely awe inspiring. The thing about iguazu in the sun which you don´t expect is that there are multiple rainbows everywhere that you look, so the falls resembles something which could only be invented in mythical lands or the fairytales of our youth. The crashing of the falls muffles the tourist´s squeals of delight and makes each glance feel personal and unique. It is really very hard to describe something like the Iguazu Falls, I feel perhaps I sound more like a travel book or an effort to describe a lofty dream extract, but really there is no other way...

Of course I did a boat ride which takes you right into the waterfalls spray... not quite worth the 18 pounds for 12 minutes but fun as it is. Kendra and kylie, bless em, shared their lunch with me and continued to entertain me all day long. In the evening we cooked tuna pasta together and shared a bottle of wine. The next day I swam in the delicious pool and set off for a 40 hour bus journey south to Puerto Madryn.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.094s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb