Don't Cry for Me...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza
December 6th 2007
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MendozaMendozaMendoza

I'm just repelling down a sheer cliff, no big deal.
I finally am back in the USA, but still wanted to share my last few weeks in Argentina with you all. The start of December made me realize the sad truth that I would be going home soon, so I spent much of my last few weeks just exploring Buenos Aires. Most of these pictures are just various locations around the city and me playing tourist after living like a local for 3 months.

I actually traveled to Mendoza back in November, which was amazing. Mendoza is the wine capitol of South America, and my friend Sonya and I rented bicycles to go wine tasting. We also went hiking in the Andes, as well as repelling down the side of a cliff (scary but very exhilarating!)

In December we also traveled to a city called Rosario. Rosario is famous as the birthplace of Che Guevara, but other than that it isn't known for much else. However this turned out to be one of my favorite cities in Argentina!! It is right on the river so we spent lots of time on the beach, where there happened to be a rugby tournament going on. We decided to go check it
The AndesThe AndesThe Andes

I think I've discovered a new found love for hiking!
out and ended up playing in a little co-ed game and meeting a ton of great people! My friend Erin had broken her ankle a few weeks ago, but she was a true champ and didn't let it slow her down one bit. We went out to a really nice club, crutches and all...needless to say we got lots of attention haha. We also spent a day sailing and swimming in the river, just relaxing and having a good time. What I loved most about going to Rosario was that I didn't feel like a tourist at all, but more like a porteƱa on vacation.

Another great experience was going to the futbol game, Argentina vs. Bolivia. As Americans we were strongly recommended not to get tickets in the "popular" section, the cheapest and most rowdy, so of course that's where we sat. Well, stand is more like it...we jumped and shouted along with the huge crowd and, I am telling you, there is nothing that can compare to the Argentine intensity and passion about futbol. I am so glad that we got those tickets because the experience was unbelievable, and not at all dangerous, we just made sure
relaxin!relaxin!relaxin!

Erin on the beach in Rosario
to hold on to our purses. It was really hot out so they literally sprayed down the crowd with big fire hoses.

After my class ended on the 7th, I decided to go about 14 hours down the coast to a city called Puerto Madryn. All my friends were set on going to Bariloche, a mountain resort, but I had already seen mountains and wanted to see more ocean so I ended up going by myself. Traveling alone was challenging but also very liberating, and I had an amazing time! Staying at hostels is so much fun, I met so many people from all around the world. In Puerto Madryn I saw elephant seals, sea lions, penguins, Baleen whales, Commerson's dolphins, guarnacas, and because it was late spring/early summer there were lots of baby animals. I loved being by the ocean again, and also spent a good chunk of time just reading on the beach(my first novel in Spanish - El Alquimista), and also went horseback riding on the beach.

After a few days at Puerto Madryn, I traveled 8 more hours south to visit my friend Yamile in a tiny tiny Patagonian town called Pico Truncado. Here
Sailing in RosarioSailing in RosarioSailing in Rosario

Sonya's friend owns a boat, so we spent a whole day out on the river.
I met up with the girls who had gone to Bariloche, and we all spent a weekend with Yami's family. This was so incredible, since I didn't live with a host family it was an entirely new experience for me. There were five of us girls invading their house, but the family was so warm and welcoming I felt right at home. Yami has two little sisters, the youngest of which loved me after I watched High School Musical with her (and knew all the words). The middle sister was graduating from high school, and we got to attend her graduation reception. They do things so differently, the reception was like a big party with food and champagne and dancing, and we were there until 4 in the morning! We were so far south the sun was already coming up at 4am when we left. The town was so small everyone knew us as the Americans, we were like celebrities, and a group of little boys chased us around the whole weekend throwing water balloons at us. Staying in such a small town was fun and something that not many people get to do, so I feel very lucky. Even
FutbolFutbolFutbol

more than just a game
after just a weekend with Yami and her family I cried when I had to leave.

After a 30 hour bus ride back up to Buenos Aires (complete with a screaming baby), I was both excited to go home and very sad to be leaving. Hopefully I can make it back someday...if anyone wants to come with me let me know! I know I owe some of you emails, you will be hearing from me soon! Hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas and New Years, thanks for reading these!



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

La BocaLa Boca
La Boca

This neighborhood is famous for inventing the tango and for its brightly painted buildings.
The Mechanical FlowerThe Mechanical Flower
The Mechanical Flower

It opens up during the day and closes at night!
Dolphin watchingDolphin watching
Dolphin watching

this was my favorite thing in P.M.
more dolphinsmore dolphins
more dolphins

swimming alongside the boat
guarnacasguarnacas
guarnacas

are kinda like llamas
Graduation Party!Graduation Party!
Graduation Party!

Yami, Sonya and I


Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb