Mad Dogs & Englishmen


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza
September 3rd 2007
Published: September 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Check out the jaw on this baby!Check out the jaw on this baby!Check out the jaw on this baby!

I think he looks like the Ewoks, out of Star Wars.
It was Sunday afternoon and i thought i'd go for a stroll. What better way to get to know a city than to walk it's streets and immerse yourself in it's culture? So there i was in down town Mendoza, without the faintest clue as to where i was going, when i suddenly realised I had company. How long he had been following me, i don't know, but my four-legged friend seemed to think he knew me and with his tail wagging he jogged along behind me. So i thought 'what the hell?' and me and my new canine friend roamed the streets together. When i stopped to take a photo, he stopped and sat beside me. When i went into a shop to buy some water he would politely wait outside for me...very well behaved for a potentially rabid stray, i thought. Now i don't know if it's something to do with pheromones or a certain chemistry that i have with dogs but before long there were two of them trotting along besides me and i was starting to feel like Dr Doolittle or some kind of homeless man. I must point out at this point, i had no food
An EwokAn EwokAn Ewok

The Ewoks inhabit the Forest Moon of Endor in Star Wars, The Return of The Jedi.
on me and i hadn't given them any encouragement whatsoever, they had just taken a shine to me.

It seemed that the first dog had started something of a trend and within the hour i had no less than 4 dogs in my troop. I used to think that 'subtlety' was my middle name, but when you have an entourage of stray dogs following you down the road you tend to stick out like a sore thumb and i was starting to get some funny looks. I decided i had to lose these pooches one way or another but that was easier said than done...i tried to explain that we'd grown apart and it wasn't going to work out between us...I was only in Mendoza for a few days and i didn't think a long distance relationship would work. They just looked at me blankly. Maybe they no hablan Inglese. So they followed me all the way back to my hostel (aproximately 4 miles) and i closed the door on them. By morning they'd finally gone. As you read this they're probably stalking another bemused tourist through the streets of Mendoza.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb