Music, Music everywhere


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Mendoza
October 9th 2006
Published: October 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today I am Mendoza. A 14 hour bus journey from Buenos Aires. In the mountains the air is fresh and warm and the wide avenues are lined with trees but all around are the snow capped peaks of the Andes. But enough about Mendoza I have been here less than an hour......... I spent most of the last two days wandering around Buenos Aires alone which is, of course, the best way to discover a city. And I decided that I really liked it. It´s architecture is similar to Italy or France but it has great parks, one really reminiscent of Central Park in New York, with huge trees and grandoise buildings surrounding it. Yesterday I went to the Antiques Market in San Telmo. I loved it. It was like stepping back in time. Everywhere (across the whole city) there is music. Deep, mournful tones of the tango. I dont think Ive ever really heard music like it, sometimes so powerful that the hairs on my arms stand up just walking past a shop doorway. In San Telmo more than most places there were performances . Old men and ladies dancing a tango slowly, 8 pieces classical bands strumming together on teh street. Glamourous youths spinning and twirling and asking for money. The market was fabulous. The whole atmosphere was like going back to a different (more prefereable?) time. It´was the kind of place where you just stopped and sat on a step and took in the sun and watched people go by... and of course I did. Mellowing with the hynotic music and the warmth of the argentinian sun.

I think over the three days I saw most of the central sights of BA, though in a cit that big I certainly barely touched it. I experienced late night Buenos Aires, ate a HUGE beautifully cooked steak and the best bottle of wine Ive ever tasted for 6 quid. Took a load of photos, walked 5 or 6 hours a day, but most of all came to the realisation that a city doesnt need to be fast paced and frenetic to survive and sometimes its´s good.... essential even... for the soul if you just sit back and watch the world go by.

Hasta manana x

Advertisement



10th October 2006

i miss you..!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb