Plaza San Martin and how some Argentinians feel about the Falklands..


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Córdoba » Córdoba
January 17th 2015
Published: January 20th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Today I visited and studied Plaza San Martin, the main Plaza dedicated to the liberation of Argentina from the Spanish, I passed Obispo Mercadillo with wrought iron bars, I saw the Manzana Jesuitica (the Jesuit block) and the four buildings included in it, I looked around the beautiful church Iglesia Catedral. Outside a man asked me where I was from and when I said that I was from the UK he began explaining what happened in the Falklands and asking me when they would get their precious islands back. Whilst he was saying it in good fun, since coming to Argentina I have realised how much they want their land back.



In my first few days in Cordoba a man wearing a small British flag on his t-shirt was confronted by an Argentinian who said ‘Las Malvinas son nuestras’ ‘the Falklands are ours’ without any provocation. Then when I was going to Jesus Maria I saw an enormous sign on the roadside saying ‘Las Malvinas son Argentinas’ meaning ‘the Falklands are Argentinian.’ When I was in Buenos Aires the guide toured us around the memorial to the Falklands war and went into great detail about how the British army tortured the Argentinians when the Argentinians tried to get the Falklands back. I feel sure that the British army could not do such horrible things but I will try my best to find out the truth before I leave Argentina. The Argentinians seem to love to talk and communicate their political views to anybody who will listen, especially the Argentinians from Cordoba who have a reputation for being very chatty, warm and friendly.



In the afternoon there was a hailstone storm and I was stuck in Mcdonalds with a McChicken sandwich, fries and a fanta, only a few blocks from the hostel. A man from Cordoba who was staying in the hostel and who earlier had explained to me how to make ‘mate’ the National tea of Argentina began telling me all about Cordoba and places he had visited. It is always when I’m looking for food that I have my most interesting encounters with people who love to talk about their country and themselves.



In the evening I went to Paseo de las Pulgas where there was a market with stalls selling all different kind of products. I bought a bombilla for Mate and I’m now on the look out in supermarkets for the weakest Mate called Ámanda and I will work my way up to stronger ones. I need to learn how to make it first though.



Later I walked around Cordoba, got lost, spent the evening roaming around in the busy but beautiful streets and ended up at a stunning church just in time to see a couple exchange rings in marriage.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb