Cordoba -- Yvonne skydive or maybe not!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Córdoba » Córdoba
July 15th 2010
Published: August 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We left BA with heavy hearts feeling we left a lot undone but onto another night bus to Cordoba we went. Usual drama with catching the bus but sure we got there eventually as we always do. Cordoba is a big college city and known as a place to go to skydive. I’ve been planning on doing a skydive here all along so this stop was all my idea.
We arrived at 7 am in the morning and had a lot of bother finding somewhere to stay. It was a much bigger city than we’d expected and there seemed to be no area where all the backpacker hostels were. Finally at about 10am we found somewhere and went for a nap.
When we got up we went for a wander and I booked my skydive for the following morning. That night we went for all you can eat dinner in the biggest restaurant I’ve ever seen. They had everything you could think of from steak to pasta to desert. We made pigs of ourselves. In hindsight we should have sat for a while and watched some locals take on the buffer first. But no we just drove on and piled up our plates with all the carbs available. We were full within 30 minutes while some argentinas were going up for their 10th plate. Amateurs. I was even too full to properly enjoy the deserts. I have to say while on the subject of desert that Argentinas really really know a lot about cake. There are little pastry shops on every corner. Every pastry comes filled with Duche de leche. This is a caramel toffee type spread. Which I’ve found out you can get by the jar!! I’ve been snacking on this as I type. Spreading it thickly on top of plain biscuits..
Anyways back to the story. The following morning I went to the tour office to be told that the skydiving had been canceled because of the poor visibility. I was very very disappointed. They said that the weather was only going to get worse the following day so I just gave up. I’m definitely going to do it in New Zealand. Defo. I went back to the hostel and just pottered around for the rest of the day in a bit of a sulk. It was a really cold day for pottering tho so we ended up going into a pub called Johnny be goods for a drink. This was a really nice pub with really good looking deserts. Regret not sampling any but beer was the choice at the time. It was really cold outside and the pub was so nice and toasty. We could have stayed there for the night but decided that would be very bad for our budget and bus journey the following day.. We went to the cinema instead, we went to see the new Eclipse movie which I thought was very very good. I was quite surprised. It’s no true blood but a good attempt all the same.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb