South America Day 31 - Córdoba


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Córdoba » Córdoba
February 8th 2019
Published: February 9th 2019
Edit Blog Post

The morning is spent doing admin; cancelling car hire and remote hotels, planning a route that can be done by public transport. The lovely Wilma sends us beer to cheer us up.

In the afternoon we walk round historic Córdoba; the cathedral, several churches, the Jesuit quarter, the Cabildo and the Museo de la Memoria, housed in a former D2 intelligence detention centre, dedicated to those who ‘disappeared’ during the military regime of the 1970s.

We return to the hotel for a swim. An Argentinian man lays claim to my sun lounger, which is covered with my stuff. I try to retrieve my stuff from under his stuff. He tries to put his stuff back on top of my stuff. It has been a stressful day and he bears the full brunt of my feelings on Argentinians who screw with my stuff. Not my finest hour or indeed my finest Spanish but he got the point. In hindsight I probably didn’t need to bring up the Falklands…

In the evening we go out for dinner. We have sorted our problems, now we can relax, drink beer and eat cheesy chips. At that moment, a wasp appears from nowhere and stings me on the hand. A fitting end to the day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb