Tripping around and going out!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Chubut » Esquel
April 12th 2007
Published: April 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me and my mumMe and my mumMe and my mum

A national park somewhere between esquel and bariloche!
A few weeks ago we had the niece of my host dad and her friend stay in our house for a week and that weekend we drove them up to bariloche, a town a few hours away and on the way we stopped at some lovely places in the national parks. To be honest, I went out the night before and was really tired and I don´t know what the lakes and places are called or anything but they look pretty so I´ll put in some photos of them!

It was the German girl Friederike´s birthday about a week ago and so we had a lovely cake party for her in her house and then went out that night. Cake parties seem to be what you do on the afternoon of your birthday here, and hey I´m not complaining because when you are gonna eat sweet things in this country, you always know that it´s gonna be good. I think we had 3 cakes between about 12 or 15 people. I think Australians should turn more to these ratios when having birthday cakes, and here, no one has shity sponge cake with mock cream!!!! Always good stuff like rasberry
Cake partyCake partyCake party

Friederike cutting one of her 3 birthday cakes
or dulce de leche! It was a very fun afternoon though and I had alot of fun talking ( or trying to talk) with her argentinian friends. I even managed to tease someone in spanish!!! that´s a break through!!!

So i´ve included some photos of going out on Friederikes birthday and some other nights out with my school friends. Usually on a Friday or Saturday, at about 12:00 I either go to someones house, or to a lovely little bar called Moe in my town, and stay there for a few hours. ( I find that these hours are often the most beneficial hours of my week in terms of learning spanish because being in a good mood, and having a bit of alcohol frees my inhibitions of being afraid to speak badly and I´m told that I´m most easy to understand when I´m out on the weekends! Therefore I´m happy to talk and talk as apposed to in school where I often just sit quietly alot of the time!

And then at about 3:00 we always go to disco ( night club) to dance. Yes becuase this is South America and everyone can dance (boys included) and
The hill climbThe hill climbThe hill climb

My grid system city!
everyone loves to dance!!!! Some of the music is exactly the same ( the certain techno songs that are big all over the world) and then there is things like Shakira which actually sound good in spanish unlike how they sound in english, and there´s alot of other general south american sounding type music and the very distictive ´cumbia´music which for anyone that understands music, it all has a constant beat of ´ta, tee-tee, ta, tee-tee,´ underneath it making pretty much all of it sounds the same but people really love it here.

That´s another great thing about this culture. Being a girl, I have never had to pay to get into disco where as the guys often have to pay about 8 pesos!!! Yet another thing maybe we should adopt in Australia!

Went tripping around again that week with a bunch of rotary exchange students that had come down for the german girls birthday. We went on a massive hike up this hill which overlooks my town. ( my town is pretty much in a valley) It took about an hour or so and was pretty cold at the top but it had a great view and
Going out!Going out!Going out!

St patricks day in disco
we got some fantastic photos. It was interesting walking up there too because the hill we went up is the poor peoples area of town, so there were lots of little tiny houses made from shity bricks without windows or anything, I´d hate to think what it would be like to live up there in the winter. Made me feel very grateful for my lovely house back down the hill!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Pretty LakePretty Lake
Pretty Lake

One of the lakes we stopped at, it had very lovely greeny/blue water!
Pretty LakePretty Lake
Pretty Lake

My parents Leo and Elsa infront of the pretty lake
The hill climbThe hill climb
The hill climb

The guy from Mexico, Troels from Denmark, and Evan from USA
The hill climbThe hill climb
The hill climb

Hannah Stopping for a water break
The hill climbThe hill climb
The hill climb

Me and Fede
The hill climbThe hill climb
The hill climb

Resting at the summit
The hill climbThe hill climb
The hill climb

The beautiful Esquel
Going out!Going out!
Going out!

In Moe for Friederike´s birthday
Going out!Going out!
Going out!

Going out for my Argentinian friend Diana´s birthday
Going out!Going out!
Going out!

Me with my friends from school in disco. Juli, Daiana, Judith, me and Laura. Sure they all look like english names but they don´t sound anything the same!
Going out!Going out!
Going out!

Out on the town. Or should I say, out in the cold, on the town.
Going out!Going out!
Going out!

It ok mum, it´s not me holding the cup of beer.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb