Buenos Aires!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
December 31st 2011
Published: January 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Plaza de MayorPlaza de MayorPlaza de Mayor

Buenos Aires
So after a brief flight across the continent I arrived in sunny Buenos Aires. Argentina´s capital city. After checking into my accomodation....the Ritz (hostel that is!) I got out and about on a city tour to check the place out in the limited time I had. On my trip I began to see several similarilties to London, which was surprisngly comforting. There is the mixture of old buildings, new warehouse developments by the river and some green space. I really got a good vibe about this place, which was good seeing as i would be celebrating the New Year here! So next on my agenda was to make some friends to celebrate it with!

My hostel had laid on a New Years dinner, so I signed myself up and sure enough, during my empandana starter I met some fellow travellers (2 sisters from Germany and a couple from Holland) who wanted to go and watch the fireworks by the river when we finished which was perfect for me! We soon learnt however that the locals of Buenos Aires evacuate the city for New Years and go to Uruguay and such places for some reason. Therefore when we reached the riverside
La Boca StadiumLa Boca StadiumLa Boca Stadium

This one is for you Si!
there was hardly anyone there and those who were there were mainly Brazilians from Sao Paulo and other travellers, it was slighlty bizarre but actually great as you didnt have to fight for space and it all felt very relaxed and friendly! The fireworks themselves were also slightly odd. There was not one main display, instead various establishments and people set off their own fireworks along the riverside randomly, some only a meter away from spectators! So the display was almost never ending which just made it feel even more relaxed. Its crazy to think that watching fireworks in the city can be relaxing when you have experienced seeing in the New Year fireworks in London!

Luckily I didnt drink too much, so the following day I got up bright and early with the brilliant sunshine again and wandered around the empty streets before my ferry would take me to Urguay!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb