One month down, three and a half to go


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
February 15th 2006
Published: February 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi, I just stopped into an internet cafe to write a cheesy one month anniversary email, since I arrived on Jan 15. and also they have air-conditioning.

This weather is something, let me tell you. It was not so hot when I got here, then it got unbearable with the humidity, then went down, and now it's climbing again. My lady Rosa tells me that the temp. will raise one degree each day for several days. Today was the first time a droplet of sweat actually rolled down my forehead on the way to school. Girls don't sweat!!

I'm just getting over being sick since Sunday. I told my mom that it was from eating so much dead carcass in one week. Who knows.

This weeks activities, you ask? Well since I went out both nights this last weekend, I am going to chill down for a bit. Today I did enjoy a happy hour after school of two coronas for 8 pesos, and some stuff that they tell me was guacamole, but I should have known. I was going to join the group for salsa lessons tonight, but at the last second I told myself that I had to go home and study. gosh, what a loser I am. No, they have stuff all the time so I don't think I'll ever miss my opportunity. Last night we had a 'Country Potluck' on the terrace rooftop. We had Gumbo from the southern US, empanadas from Argentina, oranges from FL, kiwis from New Zealand, Greek Salad from...yeah, just guess, Curry from India, cheese from Switzerland, sushi from an American (huh?), and I made deviled eggs! I don't know if it is an American thing but it sure is a part of my family and we live in America! They weren't the best, but I made do.

Still breaking my heart with all the children that are in the streets begging. I look at them and dreadfully think that that might be all they'll ever know. I have that grade-school saying in my head, If you give something to one child, you have to give something to all the children. I try to not give because I'm always being told that it promotes the activity, like in Mexico, but it's different when I see it constantly in my life and not just a weekend in Mexico. To do or not to do, that is the question. Any advice?

Spanish is going well, I just started my third level this week and we are talking and writing a lot. I did that math, and a normal school year has about 48 hours per class. Well, every level has 40 hours and that's only two weeks. So I am almost doing a year's work in only two weeks. I've completed nearly two years of Spanish. That's encouraging!

Hasta la vista baby

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb