Being Tangoed


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
December 16th 2005
Published: December 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Tango BackpackersTango BackpackersTango Backpackers

Tango Backpackers
Tango backpackers hostel like 'El Firulete' is situated on a busy corner of Thames road. Although prices are lower, it is nowhere as popular as the Milhouse. I find the atmosphere a lot more laid back, people don´t come and go all the time, and I like to hang out in the bar near the reception. Although quite shabby, it has a very high ceiling with the fans and lights hanging down, slightly oscillating. They tend to play all kinds of music in the background, which keeps me sufficiently entertained whilst reading my Spanish notes.
The crowd are a bit older than at the other hostels, and in general people tend to mind their own business.
One night I joined a party up on the roof, which was fun as I met some interesting an cool people. A few seemed to be just as disfunctional as the few I came accross at the Milhouse, but instead of being over active, they were rather burnt out. The staff here are quite friendly, but very distant. Although this place is not bad, I enjoy staying at El Firulete a lot more, so I guess I will move back there tomorrow.
I had my
Tango Backpackers - DormTango Backpackers - DormTango Backpackers - Dorm

Tango Backpackers - Dorm
second Tango lesson this week with the same teacher who came to the Milhouse. The tango place is conveniently situated near my language school on Ciudad de la Paz. From the utside it looks like a normal house and you have to ring the bell and wait for an old lady to let you in. Inside there´s a big courtyard with a restaurant to the left, and the dance floor at the end. As I was waiting for people to turn up I noticed a huge mirror at the end of the dance floor, and I realised the courtyard is not as big as I initially thought.
The pretty tango teacher soon turned up, followed by a group of middle aged man. Eventually a few middle aged women came, which I guess made the lesson more exciting. Despite the lack of young people I had a really good time. One of the men in the class was from Turkey, and he kept on advising me, not realising I didn´t share his passion for Tango (well, not yet anyway). I also managed to annoy the teacher a bit by asking her whether the man should move a bit more 'macho' ( as in Salsa) than the lady, not realising that by using the term 'matcho' I impied women were insignificant.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb