Goodbye Buenos Aires, I'll miss you!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
October 15th 2005
Published: October 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday I had my last placements at the hospital and with Maria. The hospital was in the middle of a bomb scare when i arrived, so we sat outside at a cafe under the shade of a tree and just chatted about travelling, and the differences between Cordoba and BA, and Chile and Argentina. I was feeling pretty damn rough, I think ive finally caught that bug that's been going round, despite all my cocky protests that ive never been ill out here yet, and that i never get ill. Serves me right really. Dragged myself out of bed to go see Maria, went through a story she was meant to read with her, took a farewell pic and said my goodbyes. Really upsetting really, its strange to think that i'll never she her again. Was well and truly under the weather when i got home, went and bought some fruit juice and water and settled myself infront of the tv for a while. After dinner, us girls had a card making session, stealing all the resources we're technically meant to save for the kids. Up to our ears in paper, sticky back paper, foam and glue, we had a whale of a time. Chloe made Erin a birthday card, and I made Gari a thankyou card. New girl Lucy had arrived too, but didnt see much of her.

Wednesday I was still feeling really shit. Sick, and all fuzzy in the head, sneezing all the time, so it was pretty written off. Thursday I had a lie in then me and Chloe went in the afternoon to see the mothers of the disappeared 'las madres de la plaza de Mayo' who protest round the Plaza de Mayo outside the pink house every single Thursday at 3.30, wearing headscarves with the names of their 'disappeared' relatives who were killed in the dirty war. Quite a lot of tourists, and I felt kind of weird taking pictures, as if I was taking advantage of what they'd been through, but I suppose they still want publicity and to draw attention. We joined in the march for a couple of circuits, trying to maintain our solemnist faces, then peeled off. Tried to join another protest down the road, but they were protesting about employment rights or something so it we weren't really feeling it. Took the subte home and chilled out in the evening, had a bottle of wine with Dani and Chloe then had a relatively early night. Friday i went on another mammoth mission to get my travellers cheques changed. The place i'd changed them before refused to do it again, and I was well and truly pissed off. Anyway, got that done, bought a Paulo Cohelo book to try and look intelletual and improve the Spanish on my travels. Bought a dictionary but when i got home it wasnt there. Must have dropped it or not taken it from the shop, grrr. Was meant to be taking the new girls Rachael and Charlotte to Querubines but Adriana told them the wrong time. They weren't around so i went by myself again. The house was being redecorated so the two older ones, Micaela and Pamela, took me and the two youngest, Belen and Yamila, to the park. It was such a lovely day, the sun was really warm, not a cloud in the sky...I pushed the girls on the swings and gave Micaela and Pam a Marie Claire to look through. I took some pics, then said a sad farewell. At least I ended on a high!

So on the night we got some wine and crisps in, the boys were doing their own thing so it was just the girls for the night. Lucy and Kate were still ill from their night before, and Jodie decided not to come, so it was just me, Chloe, Becky and Rachael and Charlotte. We went to Buller for food, then next door to HJBs for a cocktail. We came home and raided the various guide books, suddenly adamant that we wanted to go to a gay club to see what would happen. Enthusiasm soon waned, and we walked up to Bar 69 again. Stopped off in a pub called 'Loft', had such a laugh. Charlotte did this thing with a pendant which tells you how many kids and what sex they're going to be. Im happy to announce my dreams are indeed coming true, with a girl first and then two boys. We went to the club and danced for a bit, then me Becky and Chloe called it a night. Went home, forced a Kiosko man to re-open his shop, drunkenly telling him that we were 'loving his work'. Back at the hostel, we had our usual loaf with marmite, in hysterics over random stuff, making far too much noise of course. Had enough sense to drink a bit of water before bed, so not too hungover today. So this morning I packed my bag, which is a workout in itself, fighting with zips and things. Despite sending my sleeping bag home, i yet again seem to have no room whatsover. Had to force myself to chuck a couple of vest tops. But it doesnt seem as heavy as when i came out, so thats a good thing. I just need to not acquire ANYTHING else on my travels. I leave for the bus station soon, ready for my trip north: first stop Cordoba. Not sure when i'll next be writing, but im sure it'll be regularly enough.

So BA, it was fun knowing you. I'll miss this place so much, cant get my head round the fact im leaving the city and the hostel for good. Im really going to miss quirks of the city: the manic driving, the 'public transport experience' the beautiful plazas and the bars and clubs... i could go on and on. Doing the placements, much as i may have moaned about it, were such an incredible experience: I taught in a school, gone to peoples homes, been welcomed into their lives. Ive seen sides to BA that no other tourist could possibly see. Ive loved it here, ive been made to feel so so welcome by Gari and (in the words of Dani) the hostel 'crew': Gari, Valeria, Mati, Dani, Juan, Patricia and Pabs. I feel like im leaving my adopted family behind. Plus im going to really miss the other volunteers. Because we're permanent residents, its such a different experience than just being another random traveller passing through. Its the people that make memories special, and i want to thank all my fellow 'travellers' past and present for making my time here amazing. So goodbye, BA, till we meet again....Im sure they'll be tears before bedtime tonight!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb