BA to Iguazu - Heath


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
February 12th 2007
Published: March 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well this is my first entry here, seeing as I’ve managed to be lazier than even I thought I could be and gotten Daniel to do the previous entries. So Dan, Andy and I arrived in BA after our massive journey, naturally without a place to stay. We met up with a few of the guys from Chile, the UK boys and the Irish girls, so we had a bit of a reunion night. Our time in BA seemed to fly by, a lot of drinking, eating and Spanish lessons helped ten days seem like 5. We were all very busy organizing our next trip as well. At this point Dan decided he would go with Andy up to Salvador for Carnaval and I decided to head to Rio with Faheem, Andy, Ro and Bev. Thankfully one of the boys’ mates had organized 2 apartments right near the beach and we were happy to fill the spots.

Our biggest night in BA was at a nightclub called the Opera House, which is a really cool mock-up of the Sydney Opera House. It had a room that seemed to play only rock ballads, apparently there were other “cooler” rooms but I didn’t find them. Our Spanish improved with each lesson, at three hours a session it was the longest I’d had to concentrate for… ah ever. We stayed in a real party hostel called The Millhouse, 10 days was a bit too long to be in that type of environment. The nightlife in BA doesn’t kick off until 2am and that’s no exaggeration, people get back at 8am have breakfast and go to bed. We also seemed to have the noisiest street in town so sleep was almost impossible anyway. Thankfully I was going to Montevideo, Uruguay for a few days before I started heading north to Brazil.

Montevideo was a really nice city; I guess after BA it was just cool to be somewhere that was a little more relaxed. By the way for any Queenslanders reading this you would love it, not only is there no Sunday trading, there’s no Saturday trading either. I thought the place was a ghost town until Monday morning when everything came to life and strangely enough there was a protest (about the 5th I had seen since hitting BA, I think it’s like a hobby). So didn’t spend long there but really liked it and would definitely go back. Caught the bus and ferry back to BA and then another 16hr bus to Iguazu Falls.

I had a few days at the falls staying in a nice hostel that had a swimming pool, welcome relief after the bus ride. The falls are awesome but the highlight is a short speed boat ride that takes you right under them, we were soaked. Thankfully we had done this at the end of the day, we needed to be cooled down after walking around for 4 hours. After a couple of days relaxing I began my tortuous journey to Rio.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb