last week in Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
June 15th 2005
Published: June 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

me and my new friendme and my new friendme and my new friend

walking the streets near my apt with a random dog at my side
The time has been flying by and I will be moving out of my apartment in less than a week. My next stop is Peru, maybe Bolivia (if their political situation continues to improve and the roads remain open), and then Brazil and the south of Argentina. I'm going to miss Buenos Aires but am excited to continue my travels and see some more of South America. It's beginning to feel a little more like fall here as the temperature begins to drop, and it has been raining the past few days as well. Apparently the winters here in Buenos Aires are similar to Southern California winters, and never really drop below 50 degrees. I've finally discovered how the people are not starving by the time they go out to dinner at 10 or 11pm. In the afternoons there is a tradition to have a "tea". Originally it probably meant actually tea, but now it's a coke and a tostada (grilled cheese equivalent).

I've attached a few pictures of my neighborhood and a few other events. I went to a play at the Teatro San Martin which was actually a lot of fun. I went with two Argentinean friends to
Palermo viejo parkPalermo viejo parkPalermo viejo park

a full park on a sunny sunday afternoon
see Shakespeare’s A mid-summer's nights dream (Sueño de una noche de Verano). The actors were great and it was really funny...even in Spanish. I tried to go see the Orchestra at the famous Teatro Colón, but it was cancelled. I bought tickets a few days in advance and was ready to go until they called the day of the show and told me that it was postponed and didn't know until what date. Apparently the workers at the theater are having problems with the government not paying them enough, so every so often the workers decide to cancel a show and not work (with a sold out full house). There still seems to be a lot of unrest between the people and the government. It's much better than it was after 2001 when their currency fell, but still differences. My luck continued with getting tickets as I also tried to get tickets for the Brazil vs. Argentina soccer game last week. Both teams are very passionate about their sport, so it was bound to be an exciting game to watch. I waited in line for 9 hours…that’s correct, 9 hours, from 10am until 7pm. We began about 8 blocks away
futbólfutbólfutból

kids playing soccer in the park...soccer is definitely the national sport!
and slowly worked out way to the front. When we were about 40 ft in front of the ticket booth they closed for the day!! Kind of frustrating, but at least I had about 4 blocks of people still waiting in line to share in the frustration. I ended up going to a sports bar with some friends to watch the game, even there it was tough to find a seat.


I've been collecting some travel quotes over the past few months that I thought I would relay...some apply to life as well as trave.


“The urge to travel, to open our minds and move beyond the familiar is as old as man himself"

"Travel dispels many of our bad impressions, confirms the positive, and promises innumerable surprises...it opens our eyes to exotic places, names familiar to us through films, books, and tales, but whose reality is so much more than they could ever explain."

"With travel, our minds become more curious, our hearts more powerful, and our spirits more joyous...and once the mind is stretched like that, it can never return to it's original state."

"The more time you spend coming to
lunchtimelunchtimelunchtime

the streets are filled at lunchtime with people enjoying a 1-2 hr lunch.
understand the ways of others, the more you'll understand yourself."

"Always travel with a smile and remember that you're the one with the strange customs visiting someone else's country."

"20 years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did."


I hope everyone is well, miss and love you all! hasta pronto!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Teatro San MartinTeatro San Martin
Teatro San Martin

in front of the theater with two friends after seeing "Sueño de una Noche de Verano"
Argentina vs. BrazilArgentina vs. Brazil
Argentina vs. Brazil

Went to see the Argentina v. Brazil game with some friends...every sports bar was filled. Argentina won!


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb