Yo hablo pero no entiendo nunca palabra


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Tandil
October 31st 2009
Published: November 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After our departure from the countryside we decided to try out our hiking legs in the peaceful town of Tandil. This is a picturesque town located south of Buenos Aires in a region that is well known for its fine selection of cheeses and cured meats. I’m not talking the super sweet deal of a Slim Jim jerky stick with cheddar to match in one convenient package. This was a throwback to Europe…cobble streets and cold cellars. Even if Jess and I were fluent in Spanish, we still wouldn’t have had a clue what this cat Maximillion was rambling on about in his dairy dialect as he let us sample some of the 130 odd cheeses he sold or the enormous spread of salami and salted cold cuts. In addition to some tasty meat and cheese selections, a loaf of bread and some olives were a great way to top off this picnic to go. Quick side note…We are in the internet café and the clerk just started pumping Aerosmith. These people can’t get enough of them. Seriously, we just finished lunch which had a soundtrack of Livin´on the Edge. Rock on. Ok, back to where I left off.

We spent these two nights breaking out the tent to help prepare for the nights in Patagonia, not to mention save some money! Our campground was located on the outskirts of town, about 5 km from the town’s center. This was convenient as it gave us a chance to explore the countryside. Tandil is surrounded by some beautiful mountains that have been eroded down to grassy hills with rock outcroppings. Hawks swirled above our heads as we made our way up the gentle valley. We made easy work of these hills but nonetheless they made for some great views. While sitting perched upon the massive boulders, a vision of pre-civil war Pennsylvania came to me (what? You know, from a book I read. Not like I was there or anything, but I did look it up and both Geddysberg and Tandil have the same latitude…coincidence?). It was amazing. I can see how important the higher ground is. From these rocks you could see for miles, or kilometers here. The land below was spotted with colonial style white houses with red roofs; some even resembled great manors with large acreage and farmland. In the far distance you could see a thin tower of smoke being carried by a faint wind. I imagined myself as a young teen wondering if I should tip off General Grant that Johnny Reb was closing in. NERD ALERT! It was really great though and a little weird. Right after having these thoughts we came across a large stick with a white shirt attached to the top as if it was a surrender flag. I can assure you that Jess is wondering when I will stop this nonsense but it is a blog after all, right?

After I was done day dreaming we made for the next set of rock outcroppings to get a view of some horses we saw grazing in the distance. The hill was higher and offered an even more extensive view of the fertile countryside. I left the backpack behind as I scrambled to the highest peak as Jess stayed behind to photograph the majestic beasts. From my peak I watched Jess as she approached a group of 12 mares and a monster of a white stallion who was obviously packin heat considering there were 8, and I must confess, adorable colts at their mother’s sides. I sat and watched Jess as I am imagined her mind soaring backwards through time as she was once again the beautiful and graceful Star, her fanciful childhood alter-equine-ego. I was very content sitting on that rock watching my wife take adoring photos. To be at the top of the world (as it felt), our pie in the sky, to find a grassy utopia where we would walk among the wind blown manes of these magnificent steeds. Oh, how I miss my beautiful windblown mane! I will save you all the rest of these tales as I could go on forever. Many of you may have stopped reading long ago but for those of you who have stayed strong, I admire your commitment for even my brain has begun to wander. Take care and until next time, adios.

Mr. Ed


Advertisement



6th November 2009

Cheese!
You sampled 130 Argentinian cheeses?!?! Well, I guess now you're both official conosurs that I will envy for eternity; make sure to look down your noses at me before you correct my feeble attempt at cheese-know-it-all-ness. Jess - you would be the most graceful and stunning of mares.. Halloween next year?? Mike - you're damn right that mane needs to make a reappearance, and what better place to let it grow back to it's full glory than a backpacking trip? I love you guys! And I just don't wanna close my eyes, I don't wanna fall asleep, 'cause I'd miss you, babe. And I don't wanna miss a thing.
6th November 2009

Mike, you are freakin hilarious. Glad you two are having such an amazing time. Miss you both. Keep up with the blogs! :)
6th November 2009

Hilarious
Your writing is awe-inspiring, son. I am so proud. No doubt your friends not only wish they were as eloquent as you but wish they WERE you. Tell your beautiful wife to be careful approaching wild beasts of any kind. I would hate to hear that she is moved one day to jump upon the back of a white mustang and never seen or heard from again! Take care of all cute (but untamed) creatures. That includes humans.
6th November 2009

Seriously?
Gentle valley? Swirling Hawks? Imagining young teens? Windblown Manes? Jess, what did you do with Mike?
8th November 2009

hey guys!! wow, i can't believe it. what a cool trip. how lucky you are husband and wife to explore!!!! it looks soooo pretty!!!!
11th November 2009

Wow!!! Thats all I can really say about all of your blogs. I am really glad I finally got my internet working and am able to see what you all have been doing and seeing. It looks and sounds absolutely amazing! I personally would have tried to ride the white stallion, but, then again thats just me. It was so good talking with ya the other day mike and I really appreciate all the support. Jess next time I need to hear your voice too though! Well keep on truckin and have a blast and I can't wait to see the next blog! Love you both so much! Mr. Bentley

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb