La Rural


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Instead of classes today, we went to La Rural exhibition. It was an exhibition of, as you might expect, rural Argentina. So really, it just felt like home. Cows, goats, sheep, chickens, and tractors. Although it was cool, I think that four hours may have been a bit too much time there; we exhausted the whole thing with about an hour left. That said, I still enjoyed seeing the animal judging and really just the sheer quantity of animals there. Also, the cheese and sweets were insanely good.

After the exhibition, Serena and I hung around in the area for a couple hours. We were up near El Parque Tres de Febrero, a big park with a few lakes, a rose garden (currently mostly empty, because, even though it was about 65o today, it is still winter), and lots of ducks and people on nice days. It was warm enough I was wishing I had shorts! We went pedal boating on the lake, walked around the gardens, and just enjoyed the good weather. Since we're leaving for Patagonia on Wednesday, this may well be one of the last nice days we have, and it was by far the nicest we've had yet.

When I came back from that, I went on a 6ish mile run from my house to and around the outer rim of the Reserva Ecológica (check the map I posted the other day). It was absolutely gorgeous and a great day for it.

For dinner, a group of us went up to a Syrian restaurant in Palermo, which has incredible shawarma and hummus. As much as I love the food here, it is nice to mix it up time to time. Tomorrow, we get to check out a ranch in the boonies, and apparently there's horses there! We'll see who's taller.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Lambs!Lambs!
Lambs!

But I still want to eat them...
Judging a sheep's stomachJudging a sheep's stomach
Judging a sheep's stomach

Sheep didn't like it


Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb