The baby steps before the leap


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
November 1st 2012
Published: November 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Buenas dias mi familia y amigos!

It is 8 am, which means I have made it a little more than half way through my plane trip. While you wouldn’t think there would be much to report after only a few hours of travel- I have already learned a few things that I believe will be pertinent to my well being and overall survival for the next three months.

Number one. Relax and take your time. Going through customs can be an intimidating experience. However! Once one successfully makes it through, it is not necessary to gather each and every loose item, one’s carry on bag, and both shoes into one giant pile and then awkwardly hobble off into a corner to pack it all away and put the shoes back on. You arent holding anyone up if you organize yourself where you are supposed to, but you will look like a blundering bafoon if you don’t.

Number two. Being polite is one thing, but be wary when letting one person pass you in a boarding line leads to another 20 people taking advantage of your naïve generosity.

Number three. Don’t worry- shoving carry on luggage that won’t fit into the overhead compartments is an awkward and uncomfortable experience for everyone. Right?

Number four. Sleeping upright is a strange ability. The sooner I learn how to do it, the better off I will be.

Number five. It’s a dog eat dog world out there people. If you don’t take the extra blanket and pillow from the empty seat beside you, and then sprawl yourself across it, your neighbour will.

Those of you who know me well probably expected nothing less from my first few experiences off in the world on my own. A comedy of errors is inevitable. I do however feel confident to learn from each and every thing I encounter and to return to you all perhaps a little wiser- that, of course, being the objective of my journey.

Thank you all for the overwhelming amount of love and encouragement you offered me before I left. I will think about you all each day and likely experience things that will make me wish you were here to share them with. I know now more than ever that I am so blessed to have such an amazing circle of support- that is not something I will soon take for granted. While this adventure is one I needed to do on my own- I will never feel alone.

So, thank you. J

Well folks, I smell breakfast! Time to sign off for now. If you would like a postcard at some point over the next three months, feel free to email me your address!

All my love,

Brooke.

Advertisement



4th November 2012

Excitement!
This may seem strange that I am messaging you but I am truly so excited for your adventure! It truly takes courage to take a leap like this. I want to urge you to take in every moment right now. This is a very special time in your trip - this is the transition between your old life and your new chapter. Remember the awkwardness you feel, the fear within you and even the loneliness. Embrace those feelings and be open about them - when you are vulnerable, then you will find community and strength in the new life surrounding you. Have soooo much fun! I know how lonely it can be so if you every need anything, please let me know - I would love to send you a package or even just a card! Take a risk today!
7th November 2012

Thank you so very much Nicole- your words are incredibly inspiring and very much appreciated. It has been a crazy trip after only a few days. But! I am starting to find my way, and I am truly loving my time here. I hope you are well! Thank you again for your note- I will take your wonderful advice to heart :)
4th November 2012

I am happy to hear you are alive and thriving. Sounds like you've acquired quite some knowledge for only being away from Canada a mere two days.
4th November 2012

wow, my post submitted before I was done, rude. Anyways, I hope the travels wasnt too hard on you. I am thinking about you lots and I miss you terribly. Love you my fry.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb