The Simple Life


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
April 13th 2012
Published: April 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

As I sit and contemplate the last 24 hours I realise it is the little things that sprinkle my days with salt and pepper moments and these moments add flavour to my life. Take last night for instance. At the end of a long day I was attempting to purchase some anti-virus software for the tablet but my typing skill with the stylus on the screen was not fast enough. After seven frustrating attempts, Sir Leigh (knight in shining armour) came to my rescue by hitting the "enter" button in the middle of the process thus thwarting the "session expired" message. Hooray, success!

Today my cell phone saga came to an end; Leigh would say a happy end because the phone now works with an Argentine sim card. I had a slightly different view when I realised all my contacts had vanished, including some details held only for sentimental reasons. A few tears, a hug and a nose blow and then we were off in search of a “man bag”.

Size, style, colour, buckles, zips, shoulder strap widths, magnetic flaps, inside pockets, outside pockets, gusseted pockets, calf leather, cow leather, suede leather, and of course the price! Leigh did not come home with a "man bag" today but he did come home with a new appreciation and understanding of the selection process for what most women would consider an important piece of equipment.

The highlight for me in the last 24 hours would have to be opening the “Lave-rap” plastic bag containing our clean washing. I hear you laugh ... but there was something satisfying about smelling our freshly laundered clothes after they had been carefully washed, folded and packed by the local laundryman for a small fee. Isn’t life wonderful ... I gave him my dirty washing and I was happy ... he took my money and he was happy ... the smiles on our faces said it all!

Looking back over the last day I don’t think it has been momentous, life changing or awe inspiring but it has been enjoyable and it makes me appreciate what I have and the people I call friends and family.

So now we are relaxing after a delicious home-cooked steak dinner washed down with an Argentine red and we are thinking about what adventures tomorrow will bring.

Cheers from Eileen

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1011.7kb