Last week in Baires :(


Advertisement
Published: May 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Since my last entry I did the last things on my list: I visited the Plaza San Martín, the Museo Evita, and the Puerto Madero. The Museo Evita is one of the best museums I've seen here in Argentina. It is informative, quite complete, and has good illumination. Especially the exhibition with creations of Argentinian artists - all containing the same two busts of Evita and Perón - was very interesting. The Puerto Madero is one of the most expensive barrio. I walked along the Reserva Ecológica, which separatres the city from the Rio Plata and had a typical Chorripan. On Saturday I did a guided tour called "historias, mitas y leyendas" through the cementary. Are you superstitious? Maybe this true story will turn you superstitious: one of the sons of the president Mitre and two of his friends bought a monument/statue that should symbolise their friendship. But they didn't get the permission to install this statue in the city, thought they decided to buy some squaremeters in the cementary and put their statue of friendship there. In the same year, all of them turned 28 and all of them died 1 week after their birthday... This is just one of the crazy stories of Recoleta (which is officially called cementary del norte).
Last Saturday I finally went dancing salsa in the club "Azúcar" with Alfredo from the Tango lessons and his friend. It's a very nice place but I missed my "Swiss" dancers! Mauro, we definitively have to dance a fast salsa together soon!
Yesterday, Andrés, the owner of the hostel in Bariloche and the brother of one of the guys working at Azúcar, called me and showed me his barrio, including the Parque Centenario and a visit of the science museum. Of course, I didn't miss the the tango lessons in the evening! Anybody who wants to take tango classes in Buenos Aires, go to the school of Mayoral and Elsa Maria in Callao/Santa Fe!
For Wednesday, a milonga is planned and I still have to see "Dracula".
I also decided about the further steps: I bought my ticket to Córdoba for Sunday (I want to visit my starting point again), and the ticket to Puerto Iguazu.

Btw: when I'm in Switzerland I'll chose the best/most interesting pictures of my - so far - about 1200 and upload them here. So check the blog again after my return!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb